Skip to content

Happy 1st Birthday, Run Linds Run!

August 25, 2011

Happy 1st Birthday, Run Linds Run!

I started this blog one year ago today! My first post (and many posts thereafter) were a bit of a mess, as I worked to develop my voice, writing-style, and content. While I still struggle to post as often as I want to, be as engaging and thoughtful as I can, and more, I’m happy with where this blog has taken me over the past year. I love being able to look back and read about training for my first marathon and everything that’s happened over the past year from simple workouts, fun vacations, PRs, and new friends! I didn’t have very many readers my first few months, as I was pretty bad about commenting on  others’ blogs to get myself out there, and didn’t share my posts via Twitter since my account was private, but I think I’ve hit a nice groove and can’t wait to see where year 2 takes me.

For year 2, I am considering self-hosting my blog and purchasing a real domain name. What should it be called? I’m thinking I want something a bit simpler, like LindsayRuns.com. I tried to think of alternatives to encompass a wider ‘theme’, but honestly, my blog is mostly about running, and will continue to be. Over time, I’d love to add in more food via recipes and restaurants as well as a bit more about life as a 24 year old living and working in NYC, but running will always be at the core.

To celebrate, let’s take a walk down memory lane. Here are a few of my favorite posts from last year. Enjoy!

Running/Life Posts:

Favorite Recipes

Race Recaps

13 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2011 9:18 am

    Happy Birthday! I like LindsayRuns – simple and to the point. I can’t wait to go back and read some of those posts!

    Mini 10K — I think it sucked for everyone – SO HUMID.

    I have a Garmin now, too — really like it.

    I’ll go back and read that CPTC one, too! Still, I’m not sure if it would be mostly embarrassing for me to go!

  2. August 25, 2011 9:42 am

    I don’t think I realized your blog was so new when I first started reading it! I don’t remember how I found your blog, but I remember being instantly hooked. You inspire me as a runner and I was so happy to finally meet you and run with you a few months ago. Now you’re one of my favorite Sweat Squad buddies! Blogs are so great for that reason.

    I loved going back and re-reading some of your posts, and it made me happy that I remember so many of them! You’ve had an awesome first year of blogging — I can’t wait to see what Year 2 brings. (And I like LindsayRuns.com. Simple, cute, very easy to remember.)

    Happy Blog Birthday! Blogiversary? What’s the term? I’m social media uncool I think.

  3. August 25, 2011 10:02 am

    Ahhhh so many posts to go through. I’ll be “working hard” today haha. I first found your blog after overhearing you talking to Megan (Runner’s Kitchen) at the Self mag taste testing event in Feb. Found you through her comments and I’ve been reading ever since! 🙂

    Are runlindsrun.com and runlindsdayrun.com already taken? I like your blog’s current name! 🙂

  4. August 25, 2011 3:45 pm

    Congrats on your blog anniversary!
    So many cool posts to read through… 🙂

  5. August 25, 2011 7:57 pm

    Happy blog birthday! I love how your blog has come along 🙂 And I love LindsayRuns.com! Sounds perfect to me. I say go for it – the instructions Megan sent re: self hosting were so easy to follow and I’m so glad I did it.

  6. August 26, 2011 1:47 am

    Happy blogiversary!! I’m glad you started blogging and that we met because of it! I obviously thinks like LindsayRuns.com because it’s close to mine. 🙂 I thought about making it something else, but running will always be at the core of my blog/life, and I’m not sure what else would be…so I like keeping it simple!

  7. Casey permalink
    August 26, 2011 10:58 am

    Yay—happy blogiversary!! Thanks for being so inspiring!

  8. August 26, 2011 1:26 pm

    HAPPY BLOG BIRTHDAY! You inspire me through your running and through your blog. Every blog post I read, I feel like I learn something new. Similarly, every conversation I have with you, I walk away with something I didn’t know before!

    You are nothing short of amazing, and I thank you for inspiring me to start my own blog! Lindsayruns.com sounds good to me. Can’t wait for year 2 from a very talented runner and writer.

  9. August 26, 2011 7:04 pm

    Happy blog birthday!! Thanks for sharing some of your favorite posts – I am definitely going to go back and read some of the ones I missed! It’s funny how when you start a blog, it does take a while to develop a writing style and even what content you want to write about. I am pretty embarrassed of my first few months of posts, but I guess they needed to happen to get to where I wanted my blog to be.
    I love reading your blog – it’s motivating/inspiring to hear about your running and also your work/life balance. You have a really positive and hard-working mindset, and I feel like I have a lot in common with you! (aside from the fact that I will never be as crazy speedy as you are 🙂 ).
    If you go with the self-hosting, I think runlindsay.com would be a good way to go, and easy to remember.

  10. August 27, 2011 2:48 am

    lindseyruns.com sounds great. Congrats on thinking about making the move to your own site. I have loved your blog from the moment I found it although I didn’t start commenting until a bit later. I can’t wait to go back and read some of the posts that I have missed. I look forward to exciting things happening to your blog in the next year! You are always such an inspiration to read.

  11. trudyj permalink
    August 27, 2011 8:22 am

    I’ve only been reading your blog for a few weeks but I love it. Congratulations on your milestone.

  12. August 27, 2011 8:52 pm

    re: self hosting, do it!!! if you sign up for FoodBuzz ads, you can monetize a bit. it’s not much, but it’ll pay for some nice dinners out 🙂

    i was just reading over some old blog posts of mine (circa 2008) and omg…embarrassing…haha. i almost want to delete them because the content is so lacking, but maybe i’ll leave them up for a good chuckle!

    happy blog birthday!!! i think you deserve a cupcake.

Trackbacks

  1. Happy Birthday Runner – Happy, Happy & Happy

Leave a comment