Skip to content

The Eternal Optimist

October 26, 2010

Okay, my last post made me seem like a weeeee bit of a pessimist. And a complainer. And being a DEBBIE DOWNER about running. But I promise you, I’m really an optimist! πŸ™‚

Sometimes I wonder if I’ve always been this way, or if running for so many years has altered my disposition to a constant state of runner’s-high happiness and elation. Perhaps ground for a new study…? I won’t quit my day job yet.

Don’t get me wrong, I clearly lack self-confidence in many areas and doubt myself from time to time, but typically I keep a positive, happy head on. Which only seems to be exacerbated by having a good, solid run. Maybe I was feeling down since my previous few runs had been sub-par and I didn’t know why? I’m sure there is some direct correlation between quality of run and general mood that day. A-ha! Another study…?

Anyways, I don’t know where I’m really going with this. I suppose I just needed to reiterate how much force running has on my mood, particularly during Marathon training! I took today off to rest the legs and recover a bit, maybe that’s what my body needed besides overdosing on calcium, iron and sudafed. Here’s to hoping for a better run tomorrow morning! And no rain? It’s been unseasonably warm, but I’ll take it! SO much easier to get out the door in a tshirt and shorts (or tank top!) rather than spandex and a longsleeve…

Can you believe we’re only 12 days to go?! I’ll leave you with some happy, optimistic photos to get pumped for the NYC Marathon, all courtesy of google images:

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2010 8:14 am

    Hooray – 10 days now!! I hope your leg is feelin’ better πŸ™‚ Running definitely has a huge effect on my mood – I’m miserable without it. There’s definitely nothing like a runner’s high, you know?

    LOVE that last sign!! I’m telling people to make some of those for me πŸ™‚

  2. Marc permalink
    October 27, 2010 6:48 pm

    Really with the Borat pic?? hahah!
    Best of luck! I’lll be thinking of you while you’re tearing it up.

    Pel

Leave a Reply

