Skip to content

Bib #887, Check Me Out!

October 30, 2010

Tomorrow marks the 1 WEEK COUNTDOWN until the BIG DAY! It’s hard to believe that I was once doing 100 day countdowns, 50 days, 1 month…and now, just about a week!

The negative thoughts are now converting into energy and excitement. I really rested up last weekend and enjoyed my runs this week, and the springiness is back in my legs! Some days I was tired, but it was my typical “ughh, i’m running at 6:45-am”-tired, not “my entire body and soul feels drained”-tired. Great improvement.

The excitement has been bolstered by constant Marathon reminders around the city…posters in the subway, bus wraps, commercials on TV, everywhere! Flags along the Marathon Route in Central Park give me an extra boost, and seeing the bleachers around the finish area propel me up the ‘hill’ that is the final .2! This is probably stupid, but I don’t know exactly where the finish line is, just the general ex-Tavern on the Green area. Oh well, by that point I’m pretty sure I’ll have entered a state of delirium so it doesn’t really matter.

On Thursday night, I got an email declaring I was accepted into the Local Competitive Start! This is a special start area at the very front of the Green Corral 1 reserved for local-NYC runners who have met a certain time. My 1/2-marathon qualified me, but I’m not attached to any local running club so I didn’t think I’d get in. Nonetheless, moved from Green Corral 3 to Green Corral 1 in Wave 1. And moved from Bib #33XX to Bib #887! Woo! And I hear there is a special warm-up/stretching area with portapotties in the LCS area. I’ve heard the stories of people urinating anywhere and everywhere (hey, running is not a glamorous sport) so I am certainly looking forward to not peeing in public. Yep. It’s the little things.

I’ve also been quite pleased with my cooking skills lately. With more free time/forced relaxed time (read; not spending my Friday nights drinkingΒ  and Saturday mornings hungover) I’ve been making more trips to the grocery store and getting a little bit more innovative in my recipes.

Last night, I made a healthy Mexican-Fiesta creation: Seasoned shrimp and ground lean turkey, roasted tomatoes & onions with black beans over brown rice. I sprinkled with some low-fat shredded mexican cheese, and put a dollop of 0% Greek Yogurt mixed in (just like sour cream!) and everything got creamy and gooey and tasted like Qdoba (<3!) but 100x healthier and more delicious! My batch made 3 servings so I froze 2 more easy and healthy dinners for next week. Protein, fiber and carbs triple punch!

This morning, I tried my second attempt at healthy pumpkin pancakes and waffles. I made pumpkin pancakes last week, and while tasty, the consistency was all wrong. I used oatmeal instead of flour, and this week blended the oatmeal to make oat flour and think that made a huge difference. So, I used: oatmeal flour, canned pumpkin, almond milk, cinnamon, nutmeg, 0% greek yogurt, small spoonful of protein powder, baking soda and egg white. I don’t really have measurements because I kinda just eyed it into the bowl.

I poured the batter into my waffle maker and prayed it didn’t become a sticky mess that I would have to scrape off. I used the extra to make two mini pancakes. Luckily, they all came out! Still not as pretty as I’d like- the pancakes get super cooked and browned on the outside but the insides are still a little goopy. The waffle was excellent! I topped it with some maple syrup, cinnamon, and crushed ginger! (Yes, I’m newly obsessed with ginger). They were SO good and will fuel me through the day Extremely low in fat, full of good carbs, and protein!

Sometimes I wish I had more people to cook for (i.e. I want to be a stay-at-home mom who gets to cook delish dinners every night for her family!) since cooking for 1 is hard because things go bad so quickly if you don’t use them, and making larger portions is so much easier. Well, since my dream of being a stay-at-home mom luckily won’t happen for a good decade, I’ll enjoy cooking for myself for now πŸ™‚

After I finish digesting breakfast in bed, I am off to run the last 10 miles of the marathon course! I’ve heard this is a good way to get to know the end of the course well when my body starts hurting most. Also, I have never even run (or been to?) 1st avenue, let alone the Bronx, so it’ll be a cool experience. No surprises on race day, and I can think back to how awesome this run was (*fingers crossed*)

Happy Saturday to all!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

