Skip to content

Post-Race Blues & Turkey-Day Break

November 28, 2010

Greetings from a plane at LAX! It’s been a while since I’ve posted, but I’ve been struggling a bit post-marathon to get settled back into a schedule. I took two full weeks off from running, and thought I would have loads of free time and energy. I was wrong! Since I usually run in the mornings, I slept in a tad later but didn’t feel as awake and ready-to-go when I left for work. Running really kickstarted my day (reminder to self when I don’t want to wake up early)

And, since I didn’t have to wake up to run, I found myself staying out later for post-work drinks/activities with friends. Which of course,was great and fun, but made me way tired the next day at work. Being social is so hard…(Fake sigh)

I enjoyed my two weeks off but it certainly wasn’t as blissful as imagined. I want another few weeks off but I’ve made my return to running. And its been painfull! I’ve eased in this last week, starting with 15 minutes and upping it around 5 each day.

The runs were made easier in that I was been out in Santa Barbara, CA for Thanksgiving break from Weds-Today (Sun). We stayed right along the beach and waking up with a run along the sunny, warm coastline made the huffing and puffing a tad more enjoyable! Not looking forward to going back to the frigid Northeast.

My mom’s side of the family pretty much all lives out in CA so this was the 2nd annual gathering at my aunt’s in Santa Barbara. It was full of fun, laughs, and of course-food! I’m still full with turkey, stuffing and pumpkin pie but it was so delicious!

But I must say I’m looking forward to getting back to NYC and settling into my routine- run, work, healthy(ok, trying to be healthier) eating, increased focus on “extras” (stretching, core, weights, pilates, etc.) and the best: the kickoff to the holiday season in the city- lights, snow, store window decor, peacoats, gloves, xmas trees, sparkles! Love it all.

Well, planes about to take off. Now for 6+ hours of fun in the air. Certainly NOT looking forward to returning to work tomorrow but THANKFUL I was able to spend time away in a beautiful place with my family πŸ™‚

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 4, 2010 9:45 pm

    I also run in the morning and definitely get my energy for the day from it. On my rest days I just don’t feel as on the mark. I hope your runs are going better now!

Leave a Reply

