Skip to content

Reflections on 2010

December 31, 2010

And now its time for the obligatory New Years post, recapping and saying goodbye to 2010 and welcoming 2011!

I’ve been contemplating the overall theme or tone of 2010 lately-basically if it was a great year or downright sucked. In short, it was a transition year. Many many things changed and many stayed the same- I feel like I lived through this past year in a mental daze, but then also made some great strides. Let me explain. Big events fall into 3 buckets for me when I look back at 2010…love, family and running.

Cue the end of 2009-
Love: I find out my boyfriend of 3.5 years got blackout drunk and cheated on me, and we break up a week before Christmas. Family: my family all spends Christmas in sunny Mexico enjoying our time together just the 4 of us. Running: I don’t get into the NYC Half-Marathon lottery but I’m kind of depressed over the breakup so don’t want to run anyway. Highs and lows.

Then, 2010 comes. Love: I go back and forth between dating new people and wanting to get back together with ex. Family: Valentines Day rolls around and my parents finally decide to divorce. We sell our house in Basking Ridge and I find it difficult not having that place I grew up in as home. Running: I pull some strings and get into the NYC Half-Marathon and try to strike a balance between training competitively and keeping it low-key and enjoyable. I go in witha goal of 1:37 to autoqualify for the NYC Marathon and surprise myself with a 1:29:35 half debut! I train all summer and fall in preparation for the NYC Marathon and discover a new love for long distance running, different than in college because its on my own accord and more positive stress than negative. I run 3:04:32 in my very first NYC Marathon!

Now, the end of 2010. Love: I’m still going back and forth between wanting to be truly single and forgiving my ex. I’m very emotionally weak when it comes to this and need to move forward one way or the other, no more limbo. Family: My mom loves her new condo and life in Montclair and my dad moved to Wisconsin. I still have trouble dealing with the divorce and only seeing my dad once every 6 weeks or so. But happy that my parents are both on new, happier paths. Running: I’m training for the NYC Half-Marathon again in March and can’t wait to run another Marathon soon! Perhaps in under 3 hours.

So, in some ways 2010 was great for me and others it was really a struggle dealing with new changes. But, I am happy (most days πŸ™‚ ha) and healthy and do have wonderful friends and family to be thankful for! I’m currently spending New Years in the Poconos with friends-we rented a house and have been skiing and hanging out and I cannot wait to toast to 2011!

Here’s to making some strides in 2011 that will have it be less transitional and more…what’s the right word-concrete? Actionable? Definitive? I just want to feel more secure and confident in life, but I suppose that’s what 23 to 24 is all about πŸ™‚

Happy New Year, everyone! If you had to pick a word to describe your year, what would it be?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2011 5:18 pm

    Umm, you met me in 2010. Soooo, I’d say overall it was a pretty kick ass year for you.

Trackbacks

  1. Happy 1st Birthday, Run Linds Run! « Run, Lindsay, Run!

Leave a Reply

