Skip to content

Rolling with the Punches

January 29, 2011

Earlier this month, I wrote about how the snow and cold weather shouldn’t stop you from getting outdoors to getting your miles in, and how much I love to plan my schedule and hold myself accountable.

Well, I’m only human and sometimes life gets in the way and I can’t always run the miles I had planned, when I had planned them. After a post from Corey @ The Runners Cookie (hi!) I started to think more about how I handle these types of situations. Am I tough and pushing myself within my limits, or obsessive when it comes to training and pushing myself, and knowing when to let things go?

I’d like to think I have a pretty balanced life. I work 40+ hours a week, run 40+miles per week, make time to hang out with friends, enjoy relaxing time for myself and other hobbies, etc. But running certainly does take up a larger chunk of time and energy than someone no longer competing in HS or college, but doing it on their own for ‘fun’. I thus often make myself feel guilty or lazy when it comes to not hitting my pre-determined goals for the week. Is this normal?

This week was full of setbacks. From being hungover on Sunday and opting to lay in bed instead of running 12 miles, getting bad family news on Thursday and not having any ambition to run or get to the gym due to the massive snowfall, to my alarm clock not going off again on Friday morning, things did not go as planned.

But, I am proud that I remained flexible. Sunday’s long run is planned for this afternoon. I still got out the door on Monday to do 6 miles despite 6 degree weather. I took advantage of a slow workday on Wednesday to get out a bit early and do my tempo run on the treadmill before a 7:15 dinner reservation. I considered Thursday a ‘mental health’ day. I rushed to squeeze in 4.25 miles Friday morning despite my alarm not going off, and made up the remaining 5.75 I had planned after work.

So, I didn’t hit the 45 miles this week I had planned, but 42 is pretty darn close considering the ‘mishaps’.

At the end of the day, I have to remind myself that I am running for me and for fun! Sure, I get a bit obsessive at times but it’s only because I want to push myself to my full potential and know I am fully prepared going into my next Half-Marathon on 3/20. Sometimes you have perfect training weeks, and other times it’s less-than-average. But staying flexible and getting in the miles when and where you can will continue to keep it fun!

So, I’ll leave you with some pictures I took near my apartment on Thursday morning. NYC just can’t seem to get rid of the snow! It’s the snowiest January on record. Here’s to hoping February will melt the snow on the Bridle Path so I can get off the main drive in Central Park 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2011 1:24 pm

    here’s to the snow melting on the bridle in February, for sure! Don’t beat yourself up about the week – you’re right, 42 miles is very close, and it’s highly likely those three extra miles won’t matter in the long run. It’s funny how we get so hung up on that kind of stuff, and then need to be reminded that we run because it’s fun!! Flexibility = sign of a good, balanced runner! (can I have some of your flexibility??)

  2. January 29, 2011 6:44 pm

    Boston looks pretty similar right now! I’m glad you could relate to my post – I hope you resolved to give yourself a break and not feel too guilty. I always used to think I needed a physical reason to skip a run (i.e. being injured or sick) but when I realized that it is totally normal and healthy to also need mental breaks, especially when more important life things get in the way, my mindset about it changed a lot. Flexibility is definitely key – I don’t find that rigidity works for me. Glad you are thinking about these things!!

  3. February 2, 2011 2:13 pm

    Ick I’m so sick of this snow!!! Pretty pictures of NY tho. Boston looks pretty much the same. I’ve been better in the last year about not beating myself up about missing runs. Ever since I got injured I’ve tried to be more careful… Great job on 42 miles in that mess : )

  4. February 6, 2011 1:26 pm

    Hi! I also live in NYC and I definitely recall this past ridiculous snow storm. Couldn’t even make it to work that day! And lets not even get in to the ICE storm we had a few days after that. Nyc…aint nothing like it 🙂

Leave a Reply

