Skip to content

Icing NYC & Free Food!

February 3, 2011

I think the winter blues are getting to me! Despite my best efforts to stay motivated, I think I’ve hit that inevitable point in my training where I just want race day to get here already. Unfortunately for me, I still have 6.5 weeks to go until 3/20.

The dull, blah feelings could be a combination of things. It’s no surprise the weather has been brutal lately, making it oh-so-hard to want to get out of my warm bed at 6:45am each morning. Work has been much slower lately as our clients button-up details for 2011 activities, so I feel kinda lazy and bored all day as the clock ticks by. I haven’t been keeping up with my iron regiment as much, so I could be lethargic due to low-iron levels. I’ve also been upping my mileage lately, and guess I still have a bit more to go until the increased miles=increased feeling of fitness.

Nonetheless, I get my miles in despite the ice and snow, and hope my lead legs turn to fast legs soon!

On Tuesday, I braved the icy/rain/hail and hit the roads in Central Park. I thought I was going to go blind as the small chunks hit my eyes, and I slipped along the barely-plowed drive in Central Park. I somehow managed 8 miles, only fueled by the fact that Wednesday was a day off and it couldn’t get much worse. I am sure glad I took off yesterday- there was no way I was running outdoors in this ice:

Source; AP/Mark Lennihan

Even though it was sunny and a tad warmer this morning, I decided to hit the treadmill to get some interval miles in before work. Here’s how 8 miles went down:

  • 1 mile at 7:30
  • 1 mile at 7:00
  • 1 mile at 6:44
  • 1 mile at 7:30
  • 1 mile at 6:40
  • .5 mile at 7:30
  • 1 mile at 6:40
  • .5 mile at 7:30
  • .5 mile at 6:25
  • .5 mile at 7:30

As much as I hate the dreadmill, doing interval workouts or tempo runs are *dare I say* not that bad! Continuous runs are harder for me to stay focused when I’m on the treadmill, but when I switch up the pace it’s easier to focus on each ‘chunk’ at a time.

Yesterday, I read on Midtown Lunch that Grand Central was hosting a free food event this afternoon! I just had to go as my office is only a block away from Grand Central, and let’s be honest…who doesn’t like free food?

I admit, I was a bit disappointed in the turnout and selection. I went around 3:30pm and it wasn’t crowded, but there weren’t many offerings either.

Grand Central

Here’s what I ended up walking away with:

Murray's Cheese, Salami, Chocolate Nuts, and a cookie from Zarros

Porcini Parmesan Popcorn!

Overall, not bad for free food…but I was really hoping for samples from Magnolia Bakery 🙂

At the end of the day, it was a nice break to step outside momentarily. I rarely leave the office during the day and I appreciated the fresh air!

Hello, NYC!

How have you been coping with the winter weather so far? Do you enjoy running on the treadmill?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2011 5:55 pm

    I am feeling the winter blues too!! Yay, for free food and KILLER workout…you are a speed demon!

  2. February 3, 2011 6:38 pm

    Murrays is my FAVORITE! I live WAY too close to the one in my neighborhood and i tend to visit WAYYY too frequently!! I hear you about the winter blues…so over this weather…
    xoxo
    s

  3. February 3, 2011 9:21 pm

    I have the winter blues as well!! We need some sunshine and spring-summer weather soon 🙂 Hopefully looking forward to your race will change this around!!

  4. February 3, 2011 10:11 pm

    Nice job on the speed work! But I will admit, that free food selection does look pretty dismal. Where is the closest Costco for you? Now there’s some free samples 😉

  5. February 4, 2011 4:08 pm

    I just read your blog post and it seems like we are feeling very similarly! Here’s hoping some iron supplements, rest, and sunshine (!!) do the trick. Nice job on the treadmill miles 🙂

  6. February 4, 2011 5:11 pm

    I totally feel you! I absolutely hate the treadmill – I get SO BORED. To me, a good run involves the pavement and the atmosphere! I envy that you even got outside to run, I can barely walk to work without thinking I’m going to take a spill! Definitely going to read your tips 🙂

    -Courtney

Leave a Reply

