Skip to content

T-4!

March 16, 2011

First off, let me say how much I missed my favorite green monster smoothies for breakfast each morning! I got on a kick a few months ago but finally restocked my soy protein powder from Whole Foods this weekend, so this week I’ve been kick-starting my mornings with this filling, protein-packed smoothie.

Green Monster!

I swear it tastes better than it looks. Green monsters are a very easy way to sneak in spinach as the flavor is masked entirely by the banana and almond milk. In my mix:

  • 1 banana, frozen
  • 1 scoop soy protein powder
  • Few handfuls spinach
  • About 1/2 cup almond milk, enough to blend it
  • Spoonful chia seeds

I cannot believe race week is here and I’ll be running the NYC Half-Marathon this Sunday! Sunday is also my birthday, and I am strangely ambivalent towards both which makes me a bit nervous.

I am just not as “amped” for this race as I should be, and can’t really pinpoint it. Though I’ve been feeling better physically than I did a few weeks ago, I don’t quite feel sharp and fit as I expected to be. The hay is in the barn (weird saying…) and all I can do at this point is eat well, hydrate, stay healthy/injury free and rest with plenty of sleep!

I’ll put my goal time out there again, even though I’ve been second guessing it and saying writing it makes it real. I want to run under 1:28, if not 1:27:30. Because I need a bit of self pep-talk, here are the reasons I think know I can do this:

  • I ran 1:29:35 last year at this race on less mileage and no tempo/speed work
  • I split 1:29:36 halfway through this years NYC Marathon…and felt relaxed
  • Since early January, I’ve incorporated one tempo/speed session per week to help me feel more comfortable with race pace, one of my last ones was 6.2 hilly miles around the outer loop at 6:31 pace!
  • My ferritin levels are not low according to my blood test (34, which was normal/high for me…my lowest was 8 once) so I have no physical reason/question to doubt myself
  • The weather forecast says Sunday is rain-free and SUNNY…you know ill be obsessively checking this till race day!

    Sunday=Race Day

When I went home this weekend, I had two GREAT runs where I was able to really push the pace on one, and finish really strong on another. Sometimes you need runs like these for affirmation.

Saturday- pushed the pace for a strong-feeling 7:09 average

Sunday- started easy and dropped the pace last 3 miles

When is your next race? How do you balance staying relaxed for a race with not letting yourself get tooo relaxed? Do you need to do a little self pep-talk like me? 🙂

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2011 11:27 am

    Wow, the smoothie is so GREEN, haha. I’ve also used spinach in mine and can never taste it if I include lots of berries.

    Good luck on Sunday, and Happy (early) Birthday! My next race is the NYRR Colon Cancer Challenge 15K the following Sunday. I’m also hoping for great weather and a PR, as it may well be my last NYC race until the marathon if I end up moving soon.

  2. March 16, 2011 11:36 am

    Dude, I feel ya on not feeling super amped for this weekend’s race, BUT like you said – the hay is in the barn. We’ve done workouts and long runs and the weather is looking PERFECT, so all that’s left to do is channel positivity 🙂

    Hope to see you on Sunday!

  3. March 16, 2011 5:57 pm

    Good luck on Sunday!! I don’t think I ever get too relaxed before a race – I’m way too anxious usually. You’re totally capable of meeting your goal! I’ll look for you and cheer from my “course marshall” post on the east side 🙂

  4. March 16, 2011 11:55 pm

    Good luck on Sunday!! I wanted to be out there cheering, but I’ll miss most of the fast people since I don’t get out of work early enough! Before the Chicago Marathon this past fall, I was probably a bit too relaxed…I got nervous the night before, but the morning of I was totally fine and didn’t think about it at all. I think it really helped since I wasn’t nervous and just went by feel and ended up running really well! If you know you’re prepared (which you are!), then it’s totally fine to be relaxed.

  5. March 17, 2011 10:10 pm

    Good luck Sunday! I’m cheering on Sunday as my half is next Saturday in Washington DC. Sometimes it’s not so bad to be a bit relaxed – for me I find getting too jacked up about a race, I lose focus. Looks like lovely weather for 13.1 on Sunday. Have a blast!

Leave a Reply

