Skip to content

California Bound

March 30, 2011

I’m writing this post as I kill some time on a layover on my way to…. CALIFORNIA!

I’m currently in Las Vegas-tempted to do a bit of gambling but I always lose…

After a half-marathon PR, a few too many 12 hour workdays, and a successful birthday celebration, I am ready for a well-deserved vacation. As a birthday present, my mom treated me to a trip to Palm Springs, CA to my grandparents house. My mom flew out earlier this week, and I have other relatives joining later this week. Even though its a family vacation, I am so ready for some downtime spent by the pool in 90 degree weather!

Somehow, everything seemed to go wrong this week, technology-wise. Last Saturday night, I manhandled my beloved new camera and jammed the lens in. I have the worst luck with cameras (especially when alcohol is involved…..) so luckily I had gotten the uber-protection plan and the damages are covered. The downside- I had to send it back for repair, which may take up to 2 weeks! I have my old, half-broken camera on stand-in in the meantime, you just have to manually open the lens. Whoops!

As if that wasn’t bad enough, I woke up yesterday morning to a defunct phone. I took it to the Verizon store and they told me it was defective. “Lucky” for me they had a model in the store so they didn’t have to mail it to me. Would have been bad news if I was traveling cell phone-less. So, got a new phone, albeit the same outdated Blackberry Curve model I’ve had for over 2 years. I am holding out to upgrade until summer for the new iPhone model!

Phew! And work, as I mentioned, has been crazy and called for a few late nights over the past week or so but I’ve been enjoying some of the new work I’ve been doing so its not so bad!

I took all of last week off running entirely, giving my legs and mind a bit of a break. I did the elliptical twice, barely breaking a sweat, just to loosen up my tight muscles. This week, I’ve been doing about 30 minutes a day to get back on track for the Brooklyn Half on 5/21.

Well, gotta go board my flight- Ill report back poolside from Palm Springs! Hooray for vacation! πŸ™‚

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2011 3:49 pm

    Enjoy the sunshine and poolside! I’m taking this week easy as well and then will begin to ramp it up for the Brooklyn HM as well. I’m not nearly as fast you are though!

  2. March 30, 2011 5:07 pm

    ahh enjoy CALI!!!!! I LOVE IT THERE- tis my hometown!

  3. March 30, 2011 6:00 pm

    Enjoy the well deserved break! I’m jealous of California and the warmth…soak some up for us who are freezing back in NYC!

Leave a Reply

