Skip to content

From One Suitcase, To Another

April 5, 2011
tags:

So, Igot home from Palm Springs yesterday morning (on the red eye, more on that later), dropped my bags off at my apartment, and went straight into work. While it was great being out for a few days, I had a LOT to catch up on when I got in. Thus, I didn’t leave the office until 8:30 last night. Once I got home, I fixed a quick bite to eat and unpacked my big suitcase from CA, while starting to pack my carryon suitcase for my next trip. Yep, more travel!


I am currently on the train to Boston right now for a conference and some meetings. From one suitcase, to another!

I really enjoy traveling, for fun or for work, though it throws off my “normal” schedule a bit which is always an adjustment for someone who likes routine and predictability. I haven’t really grocery shopped for fresh food since I’ve been away, so I haven’t had as many fruits & vegetables as I usually like. I also am away from the office a bit which is nice mentally, but definitely am not as effective when working and emailing remotely. I also get a bit thrown off with sleep schedules if I have to get in to a destination late, or wake up early for a meeting. Minor things, trade offs.

Nonetheless, I try my best to stay healthy while on-the-go since it’ll help me feel better in the long run to eat the healthier choice or squeeze in a little exercise. Case in point: I grabbed a hummus/falafel salad vs. greasy pizza today at Penn Station before getting on the train. I am staying at an airport hotel so likely can’t run outside in Boston (unless I want to run on the highway or the tarmac..) so I’ll hit the gym instead. There are always options!

Since I wanted to enjoy Sunday in CA instead of spending the entire day flying back to NYC, I opted to take the red eye. I figured it wouldn’t be that bad, and it seemed a reasonable trade off to enjoy an extra day in the sun. Overall, it was really not that bad. I took a sleeping pill just as we boarded and conked out as soon as we took off, waking up just as the pilot announced our descent. It was as if I just dozed off for 15 minutes, not 5 hours! I did feel a bit out of it when I awoke, which was my biggest concern, but as soon as I got some coffee and fresh air, I was good to go. I didn’t sleep too well last night, probably because I kept mentally replaying my work to-do list, and I am definitely tired today. For those considering red eyes, I’d recommend them if you can easily fall asleep on planes (aided or unaided) and it worth it to spend the extra day. It was definitely worth it to me!

Well, gotta finish up a bit more work while on the train. More regular blogging will resume as soon as I stay in a steady place for more than a few days (haha) and get my beloved camera back from Best Buy repairs!

Do you enjoy traveling? How do you handle adjusting your daily routine around traveling? I love to travel and see new (or familiar!) places, and don’t mind being away from home! I try to plan ahead as much as possible to anticipate how I can keep semblances of my normal routine when on the go, which is often difficult if you’re not sure of your itinerary while traveling!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2011 5:16 pm

    I only wish I could fall asleep like that on planes – so jealous! Glad you took an extra day to enjoy your vacay though, lady! I like traveling, but hate straying from my routine. I usually find a way to run and bring a lot of food with me to make sure I have healthy options (and I realize this is super anal) 🙂

  2. April 8, 2011 5:41 am

    I usually throw my regular routine out the window when I travel…sometimes I don’t even run! I figure I’m traveling to experience wherever I am, and I’d rather miss a run than miss out on some part of the culture or trip!

  3. April 8, 2011 5:34 pm

    I do love to travel, but similar to the comments above, I hate straying from my routine! As far as planes, well I hate to fly so I never sleep on planes. Red Eyes are so not a good idea for me 🙂

  4. April 12, 2011 10:08 am

    Ooooooh the life of an agency gal 😉

Leave a Reply

