Skip to content

A Day at the Museum!

April 10, 2011

After getting back from Boston Thursday night, I couldn’t wait to relax a bit this weekend! I ran a few errands after work on Friday (including picking up my new Canon S95 camera at Best Buy after I broke my old one- hooray for uber-warranty plans!) and headed home to eat dinner in bed while catching up on TV. I think I passed out by 11:30 or so…I needed it!

Yesterday, Dan took me to the American Museum of Natural History. I had been there a few times as a kid with my family and on school field trips, but not recently. I had forgotten what it was like!

Of course I remembered the dinosaurs πŸ™‚

And the blue whale!

We also saw one of the special exhibits, A Journey to the Stars. What an educational afternoon! I’m usually not much of a museum person, but this was fun. Even though I’d rather go to a zoo to see real animals, instead of fake ones πŸ™‚

Afterwards, we walked over to one of my favorite restaurants on the UWS for dinner, Citrus. We split the Shrimp, Corn & Queso Quesadillas and a Shrimp Tempura & Avocado Roll topped with Filet Mignon (amazing!), and then I had the Margarita-Grilled Chicken Breast Salad with pumpkin seeds, avocado, jicama, sweet potatoes, and manchego cheese. It was SO GOOD!

We had wanted to see Arthur, but hadn’t really looked at showtimes. As we were finishing dinner, we realized the next showing was in 15 minutes! We quickly got the check and rushed over to the theater. It was packed but we made it! Highly recommended movie, though I enjoy silly comedies like that.

And did I mention what I saw on the way to the theatre?

I can’t wait for 16 Handles to open on the UWS! According to their Facebook page, looks to be by the end of April. I LOVE 16 Handles πŸ™‚ I better start saving up for my weekly daily trips there once it opens and summer hits.

Today I’ve got an 8 mile run planned, and then some dessert-making for the 2nd gathering of the cooking club with my friends! The theme is Mexican– I’m planning on making tropical fruit flavored sorbets from scratch. I don’t have an ice cream maker or food processor, so this could be interesting.

How was your weekend? What was the best thing you did and meal you ate? I LOVED sleeping in this weekend and enjoying the (kind of) warmer weather, and that dinner at Citrus was amazing!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2011 3:45 pm

    Love that museum! Looks like you had a great weekend πŸ™‚ I didn’t realize you were in Boston recently – let me know next time you’re in town!

  2. April 10, 2011 5:43 pm

    Yay 16 Handles on the UWS. I just went there today….and yesterday as you saw in my blog. Why is that place sooo amazing? This morning I went to the Todd English’ Food Hall at the Plaza today. So delish – you should definitely go!

  3. April 10, 2011 5:44 pm

    PS I do not know why my website shows up wrong when I’m logged into wordpress. I need to fix!

  4. April 10, 2011 6:12 pm

    16 Handles on the UWS, I can’t wait!! Looks like a fun day πŸ™‚

  5. April 11, 2011 11:52 pm

    Lindsay!!! Thanks for the comment on my blog! Soooo glad I am finally “meeting” other NYC runners πŸ™‚

    -the museum looks great! i have been meaning to get there
    -16 handles = amazeballs. only been once because i went CRAZY when i was there
    -do you do your runs in the park too?
    -hold the phone – tropical sorbet????

    ahhhhh! so many things to discuss! xoxox

  6. April 12, 2011 5:55 am

    I haven’t been to that museum (or any…) of the yet! Time to con someone into going with me…

    16 Handles is amaaaaaazing! My life changed the day it opened on the UES, and it’s going to be extra dangerous when this warm weather sticks around. πŸ™‚

Trackbacks

  1. Turn that Monday Frown Upside Down: The 2nd Edition | The Sometimes Healthy Living Blog

Leave a Reply

