Skip to content

Marathon Fever!

April 18, 2011

Happy Monday!

Delicious treats from a co-worker to kick off the week

Maybe it’s the spring weather or maybe it’s the 115th running of the Boston Marathon today, but all I’ve been thinking about lately is planning my racing (and thus, marathoning) schedule. There are so many races I want to run, it’s getting a little bit out of hand.

Let’s start with the race I’m planning this around, the NYC Marathon.

Accepted! I was lucky enough to bypass the lottery with a guaranteed entry time from my race this past November (3:04), and I am pumped to do it again this year and work towards my goal of breaking 3:00.

Then there’s another race I am currently contemplating entering: the Nike Women’s Marathon! (and Half-Marathon)

Reasons running this race could be great:

  • My sister is finishing her senior year of college in San Francisco next year, and thus, I would have a free place to stay!
  • A few friends have done it in the past and say great things
  • There is also a half-marathon option
  • Tiffany’s finisher gift. Enough said.
  • San Francisco is awesome
  • A women’s-only race is unique
  • If I do the marathon, it could be a last long run before my taper. Same with the half, and adding on a bit.

Reasons running this race could be a bad choice:

  • It’s 3 weeks before the NYC Marathon. Start of the taper, but need time to recover
  • San Francisco is h-i-l-l-y, meaning sore legs
  • It’s pretty pricey…plus travel costs
  • 26.2 miles is a bit too long to justify as a last long-run, even if I run it easy
  • If I just run the half-marathon, I feel like I am missing out on the full experience

I need to decide this week if I want to run it, because the lottery closes. I could enter and not even get in! I am leaning towards just running the half, to stay on the cautious side. Better safe than sorry if I want to rock NYC in November.


There are a few more races on my ‘bucket list’. I know I have years and years to run these all, but I want to do them all right now!

There’s of course, the Boston Marathon. A must-do for a marathoner, the ultimate ambition once you’re able to “BQ”!

Then there’s the Big Sur International Marathon.

Seriously, who wouldn’t want to enjoy views like these for 26.2 miles? I really want to do this as a ‘fun run’ since I’d want to take in all the scenes and enjoy the moment rather than dying (or feeling like it).

And lastly there’s the Chicago Marathon! Flat, fast, and part of the World Marathon Majors,Β  could be a great course to set a new PR!

I don’t know how I turned into a crazy marathon runner but I kinda like it πŸ™‚ I am curious to see how my body would handle doing two marathons a year, one was hard enough for me. Though, not every race needs to be an all-out, intense PR effort, which could ease things a bit and keep racing a bit fun! Page is doing the Boston 2 Big Sur Challenge (run Boston and two weeks later run Big Sur), and I could be up for the challenge in 2012 if all stays well with my health and motivation πŸ™‚

What’s on your marathon or race bucket list? Any I should definitely look into? What was your favorite race? So far, nothing has compared to the NYC Marathon, but I can’t wait to do different races in different cities!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2011 1:16 pm

    You’ve probably already BQ’d with your marathon time, right?
    I’m going to try to qualify for 2013 (I’m sure 2012 will be closed by then) with this year’s NYC marathon!

    One of my favorite races was my second half-marathon in 2009, the Country Music Half in Nashville. Different local bands at every mile! I attempted the full the following year, but it was shut down after I hit mile 20 because of severe weather. I want to do this race again next year, but I’m leaning toward the half again because I’m paranoid about encountering the crazy downpour again, haha.

    I also want to do the Houston Marathon soon (not next year because it would be just two months after NYC), since I’m moving back and it’s also a nice, flat course. I’ll be banking on that one for a BQ if I don’t get it from a different race beforehand!

  2. April 18, 2011 2:04 pm

    Those marathons sound great! I say go for em all.. hahah. Just kidding.

    My suggestion would be the Disney Marathon. It was my first and all-time fave. It’s not necessarily for SERIOUS runners, but it’s fast and fun. PLUS Mickey gives you a hug whenever you want πŸ˜‰ Good luck girl!

  3. April 18, 2011 3:24 pm

    I’ve only run Chicago, so I have nothing else to compare it to, BUT I will say that it is such a fun course. I’ve lived in Chi for years and it is so fun to run through neighborhoods I’d otherwise never go to!

  4. April 18, 2011 5:34 pm

    I’ve run Chicago twice…and love it! Definitely a great crowd…plus it’s my hometown, so that’s always a plus. Boston is a must do! Loved being up here and cheering.

    I’m running Big Sur this year, and it’s a good thing you’re not since part of it fell in the ocean and we don’t get to do the first half. 😦 I’m a little sad about it, but it’ll be a big blogger meet-up weekend (Aron and Page, etc!), so that’ll be fun.

    Definitely thinking about SF for the Tiffany’s necklace, although I hear that it’s mainly meant for half marathoners (the second half is supposedly terrible). It’s also a HUGE Team in Training event.

    I’m excited to run NYC this year, and I might do one at the beginning of October (Twin Cities or Maine)…I’ll see how I like running two marathons five weeks apart after Big Sur!

    We need to run together soon so you can drag me along. πŸ™‚

  5. April 19, 2011 12:37 pm

    I definitely want to run a flat marathon at some point. I’ve only run NYC and Boston and while they’re both great – I think I could break 3:15 on a flat course.

    p.s. I think you should run the Nike Women’s 1/2 – I’ve always wanted to run that race πŸ™‚

  6. April 19, 2011 2:03 pm

    ooh, I love it! I’ve always wanted to run that race in San Fran – and I agree with Megan, the half sounds like a good idea! There are so many marathons I still want to run – London being at the top of the list, but Chicago, Big Sur and San Fran are definitely up there too. And Boston goes without saying!

    Totally agree with you though, nothing compares to NYC at this point πŸ™‚

  7. April 19, 2011 8:24 pm

    ANY marathon is on my bucket list! I’ve never run one and I definitely have the Marathon Bug after being obsessed with the Boston Marathon this Monday. I’m in the lottery for NYC and am doing the 9+1 program so I can DEFINITELY run NYC next year. So exciting! Chicago would be awesome, too.

Leave a Reply

