Skip to content

Back In The Swing Of Things

May 5, 2011

It’s good to be home, back in my routine.

I flew back from California on Monday, and as soon as I got home around 5:30pm I laced up my running shoes and headed out for a nice long run of 14 miles in Central Park. The first half was awesome, the second half was a bit of a struggle, and certainly didn’t help that only certain water fountains were on in Central Park. On my way home, I stopped by Whole Foods to stock up on some fresh groceries for the week, baked a delicious mango teriyaki tofu stirfry, and got settled for the rest of the week.

No, I still haven’t unpacked, but maybe sometime this month.

Amidst a busy week (read: at work until 10:30 last night) I have definitely appreciated coming home and sleeping in my own bed, eating my homemade meals, and being in my zone. Traveling is awesome, don’t get me wrong, but there is something nice about home 🙂

Though, I do wish I was still back in Carlsbad Beach, CA….

Eating fresh mexican fajitas and drinking margaritas

Laying by the pool

Laying on the beach

Walking along the Pacific Coast


Eating massive amounts of DIY Fro Yo at Menchies (3 times in 1 week, yum!)

And then, spending a night back in Santa Monica at Shutters on The Beach, quite possibly my favorite hotel

Yeah, being home is nice, but spending some time away is certainly nice in it’s own way 🙂 (And yes, this was a work trip…with a lot of down time)

Last week in CA, I hit a around 46 miles for the week. Not bad given the time difference, work obligations, traveling, etc. But then again, wasn’t really hard to get out the door with scenes like this.

This week, my legs have been a bit heavier but I was excited to meet up with CPTC tonight for my third workout. One more workout and I can officially join! We did a 6.5 mile tempo, 3.25 at marathon pace and 3.25 at half marathon pace: out and back.

My first 3.25 was 22:35 (6:56 pace) and my second 3.25 was 21:29 (6:36 pace) for a total of 44:04 for 6.5 miles. Pretty spot-on the pacing. I felt really relaxed the first half, and the second was tougher but I felt in control. I love longer workouts like this vs. mile or shorter repeats. I hope it pays off for my 10K next weekend and the Brooklyn Half the following weekend! I am not expecting PRs in either race, but it would be nice to get in decent efforts. I have actually never officially raced a 10K, so I guess anything is a PR 🙂

I’m off to bed before an early shake-out run tomorrow– have to be into work a bit early to prep for an evening event.

Do you like traveling, or do you prefer to be home in your own routine?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 6, 2011 2:09 am

    Ahhh, that looks beautiful! I do love traveling and how carefree it can be…if only that was real life without thoughts of laundry and paying utility bills!

    There is something nice about the routine of being home, showering in your own shower, and not living out of a suitcase…but you can’t beat time on the beach. 🙂

  2. May 6, 2011 11:00 am

    ahhh are you running healthy kidney??? let me know i’d love to run into you there! 46 miles on a super busy week! serious props!

    xx christine

  3. May 6, 2011 11:14 am

    That sounds like such a fun, relaxing trip!! So glad you had a nice time. I am mixed about traveling too – I love it and it’s fun, but I also really rely on my routine and want to get back to my own bed, my gym, my normal eating routine, etc. But I think without a little something to break up the routine once in a while, it can go unappreciated 🙂

  4. May 6, 2011 11:33 am

    Ahhh, your CA photos are makin’ me extremely jealous! Looks like so much fun! Nice job on the workout – Tony’s longer tempos really do help with half-marathon races. 2 weeks till BK – eek!

  5. Meggie permalink
    May 6, 2011 5:35 pm

    Good luck in your races! Are you running the Mini 10K? I am!

    Impressive running that much while traveling! I suck at tempo runs. I don’t know why. And I don’t think I can do one over 4 miles. Any tips? Or just experience?

Leave a Reply

