Skip to content

Perfect NYC Weekend

May 9, 2011

Finally, a nice weekend in NYC! Happy to say I spent most of it outside enjoying myself πŸ™‚

On Friday night, a lot of hard work (and late nights) finally culminated with a media event at the Thompson LES hotel. This place was the perfect event venue– swanky and looked out onto the pool. Soooo downtown NYC πŸ˜‰ After the event wrapped, my two coworkers and I were searching for a bite to eat and stumbled upon this cute paella/tapas bar in Nolita, Socarrat. We shared some tapas and glasses of wine, and it was delicious! Sadly my feet were killing me from being in heels, and I called it a night after that. I was wiped!

I woke up Saturday morning and got in an easy 8 mile run in Central Park around the outer loop. The sun was shining but I was still a bit annoyed most of the water fountains weren’t on. What’s up with that? Afterwards, Dan came over and we embarked on an adventure over the Brooklyn Bridge!

Once we crossed, we walked down to Brooklyn Bridge Park. It was perfect, with great views of the Williamsburg and Brooklyn Bridges.

We finally set up shop on a blanket and soaked in some sun and views.

Not too long after, we got a bit hungry and braved the 30 minute line for the original Grimaldi‘s. A large regular pie with garlic and onion hit the spot! I ate my entire half πŸ™‚

And of course no day is complete without dessert! The Brooklyn Ice Cream Factory only serves 8 flavors, which is a clear indication they do ice cream, and they do it right. My strawberry cone hit the spot!

After all that food, I woke up on Sunday morning ready to go for my last long run before the Brooklyn Half-Marathon. I logged 14 miles through Riverside, Morningside, and Central Parks. I’ve enjoyed running with my iPod when going solo, especially for a long run to keep me entertained, but I awoke to find I hadn’t charged it! So, I headed out the door sans iPod and it was actually pretty nice to be alone with my thoughts.

7:42 pace overall; not bad considering the inclines! After my little tour of all of uptown NYC’s parks, I quickly showered and headed to another one of my NYC favorites for Mother’s Day, Norma’s!

My mom and I came here last year for Mother’s Day brunch and quickly decided it had to become a tradition. Can you tell why? Check out the french toast and belgian waffles!

Happy Mother’s Day, Mom! You’re the best πŸ™‚

After brunch, we walked and window shopped on Madison Avenue, then walked across Central Park back to my apartment. All in all, a relaxing Sunday! It was nice to spend the entire weekend home, and enjoy such nice weather outdoors.

What was the best part of your weekend? What’s your favorite brunch item? This weekend, I loved walking around (and eating my way through) Brooklyn Bridge Park. It was great, I’d definitely go back! For brunch, I am totally a ‘sweet’ vs. ‘savory’ person. Give me fruity, sugary, decadent waffles, pancakes, french toast, crepes, oatmeal, yogurt– yum! I like eggs, but they are more ‘meh’ to me since I do not enjoy the taste of egg yolks and I can make egg whites any day at home.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2011 10:58 pm

    I used to run Riverside Park in college. I see you ran through my alma mater – looks like 116th. Nothing better than 116th/college walk in Nov/Dec when they string the trees up with lights. Makes me miss NYC!

  2. May 10, 2011 8:08 am

    I am jealous of your weekend πŸ™‚ And am so with you on the sweet brunch items – crepes, pancakes, waffles ALWAYS win over anything savory. I’ve never been to BK bridge park but it looks like you had a perfect day there – adding on my list for this summer πŸ™‚

  3. May 10, 2011 10:43 am

    Love the pictures! Sounds like a perfect weekend to me. I’ve also been known to polish off an entire 1/2 pizza with no problem πŸ™‚
    Best part of my weekend was returning to running, trying a new recipe and going on a dinner date with Ben.
    So glad you took advantage of the beautiful spring weather!

  4. May 10, 2011 11:23 am

    Love your NYC weekend – Spring weather needs to be taken advantage of! I always face the sweet vs. savory dilemma when it comes to brunch, but I usually go with savory eggs mostly because I want the accompanying hashbrowns/homefries.

  5. May 10, 2011 2:52 pm

    Even though I was in California for the weekend, I was SUPER jealous of everyone telling me how awesome the weather was back here! It’s actually kinda chilly in San Francisco, so I was sad that it was warmer here. I loooooove spring weather and when it’s warm enough for tank tops and flip flops!

    Walking over the Brooklyn Bridge is so fun….and brunch is the best! I’ve taken to ordering omelets at brunch (because they come with potatoes, usually!), but I do love French toast…

  6. May 10, 2011 9:58 pm

    Norma’s! I got to go there once when I used to work at Glamour and it was on their tab. Carb heaven. πŸ™‚
    Like Megan, I also usually go for egg breakfasts at brunch, but with me it’s because I suck at making them myself at home! (I attempted to make Eggs Benedict once and overcooked the eggs…and the hollandaise, which came out like scrambled eggs. Sigh.)

Leave a Reply

