Skip to content

Cheesecake & Track Workouts

May 26, 2011

I can’t wait for this weekend! Tomorrow after work, I am planning to head down to the Jersey Shore (cue jokes) to stay with my college roommate Emily for part of the weekend. On the docket: Spring Lake 5 Mile Race (just running as a solid effort, not all out), going to the beach and getting a tan, going out with other friends and lots of delicious drinks! But Sunday is the main event- my friends Casey and Matt are getting married! I can’t believe the day has come, it was just about this time last year I got her excited phone call telling me the news.

But before the weekend comes, let’s recap the week. With cheesecake and a track workout!

I woke up on Monday and my legs felt surprisingly good after Saturday’s Brooklyn Half. So, I decided it was time to finally make it to the East 6th Street Track for a CPTC workout to work on my leg speed. I have not done a real track workout in….a long, long time. I survived the workout, but it wasn’t pretty. My breathing was really labored, and my splits definitely weren’t where they should have been. It was 6×600 with 200 recovery, and 6×200 … I only did 2 200’s at the end and called it a day.

  • 2:16
  • 2:17
  • 2:17
  • 2:17
  • 2:16
  • 2:12
  • 40
  • 41

Yikes. This was not my favorite workout, but a workout nonetheless. I took off Wednesday for my weekly rest day, and it felt great! I am kinda excited to go to more track workouts to improve on my speed, definitely a weak point for me right now and it’ll just make me stronger no matter how much it sucks, right? Right.

Enough running, let’s back up. On Sunday, my friends and I met at Dayna’s apartment for cooking club. The theme was Italian, and I was (of course) making dessert! I hate cannolis and can’t think of any other real italian dessert, and have been on a cheesecake kick lately, so cheesecake it was! Only, I had never made it before so prepared for an experiment. Especially since I wanted it to be low(er) fat.

Lindsay’s Reduced-Guilt Cheesecake (adapted from this Food Network recipe)

I made this in a glass 8×8 baking pan because I don’t have a round pan or springform pan. Worked fine!

Ingredients

  • 10 whole graham crackers, broken in half
  • 2 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 4 8-ounce packages of reduced fat cream cheese
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup granulated splenda (you can definitely use 1.5 cups regular sugar and nix the splenda, I just wanted to lighten it up a bit. It’d probably taste better with all real sugar.)
  • 1 cup nonfat greek yogurt
  • 2 large eggs and 3 egg whites
  • 2 tablespoons flour
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Pulse the graham crackers in a food processor or blender until crumbled. Add 2 tablespoons water and the melted butterand pulse until combined and soft. Coat the inside of the pan with cooking spray and press the crumbs onto the bottom. (In hindsight, I would have made a bit more crumb mixture and also pressed onto the sides, so the edges would have crumb goodness as well). Bake until browned, about 8 minutes. Let cool while mixing the other ingredients.

If you have an electric mixer, now’s the time to use it. I don’t, so I just used good old elbow grease. Beat all cream cheese and the sugar and splendauntil smooth, then add the greek yogurt. Lightly whisk the 3 egg whites in a bowl, then add to the mixture along with the 2 whole eggs, flour, vanilla and lemon juice. Stir until smooth and pour over crust.

Bake until the cake is set but the center still jiggles, about 1 hour 10 minutes. Turn off the oven; keep the cheesecake inside with the door closed for 20 minutes. Let chill 6 hours (I only chilled it about 30 minutes and then popped it into the fridge to speed up the chilling. Whoops? I had places to be!).

In all, I probably ended up overcooking this. The edges were a bit browned and firmer, not as tasty as the center parts. It actually doesn’t look that appetizing to me from the pic below. So, judge me! All in all pretty easy and I’ve been enjoying leftovers all week! It’s no restaurant cheesecake, but an easy sub in when you want to make it yourself and feel a bit less guilt ๐Ÿ™‚

Do you enjoy healthy-fied baked goods? Sometimes I sub out apple sauce for butter or oil, splenda for real sugar, etc. Most of the time I can’t tell, and wonder if others can. I do admit, I have made a fair amount of funky healthy cookies and cakes before that my family wouldn’t touch! Hehe.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 26, 2011 9:20 pm

    I now want a nice, fluffy piece of cheesecake!

    Tuesday was also kind of…warm, if I remember correctly. I sometimes see the CPTC-ers at the track (I use that track, close to where I live) and I typically either leave if I see you all or change my plans. You fast people make me nervous!

  2. May 26, 2011 10:12 pm

    That’s quite a workout for three days after a half! Have fun at Spring Lake – I’ve heard it’s a good field, and I love the boardwalk there. So whether you run well or not, you win. Good, right?

  3. May 26, 2011 10:15 pm

    My favorite easy/healthy dessert from Trader Joe’s was the Reduced Guilt brownie mix that you make with yogurt. Even though it called for vanilla, I loved experimenting with raspberry, coffee, etc.

  4. May 27, 2011 2:03 pm

    Ooh, that cheesecake looks great! I’m a fan of healthified baked goods. I totally think they can still taste good. sometimes I don’t tell people whether things have been healthified and they never notice ๐Ÿ™‚ Hope you have a fun weekend!!

  5. May 29, 2011 5:23 pm

    I don’t usually health-ify my baked goods…they are called treats for a reason. ๐Ÿ™‚ I had a food science class in college, and we had “cooking lab” where we could make different versions of foods to learn about them and how different ingredients react, and we had brownie day. Everyone swore up and down that the brownies with applesauce were the best, but I call them all liars because how could they possibly be better than the ones with oil? Let’s be honest…ha. And I don’t really like Splenda in baked goods…I think it’s tastes a bit metallic. If I’m going to eat a cookie, then I want a COOKIE. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. May 31, 2011 12:43 pm

    you don’t like cannoli’s?!? if you ever acquire any, please send them my way and i will eat them all for you!

    sometimes i healthify baked goods, but i try to only change one thing at a time – ex. using 1/2 whole wheat flour OR subbing applesauce for oil. that way it’s a teeny bit healthier, but the taste isn’t too different.

    i’m out of town till June 6, but hopefully we’ll get to do a track workout together soon!

Trackbacks

  1. Garden State Weekend « Run, Lindsay, Run!

Leave a Reply

