Skip to content

Garden State Weekend

June 2, 2011

This Memorial Day weekend was a whirlwind tour of the great state of New Jersey!

On Friday afternoon, I took the train down to my friend from college Emily’s house in Wall, NJ. The night was pretty low key because we were running the Spring Lake 5 Mile Race on Saturday morning. Emily used to do this race every year, and so when our friend Kristen emailed me to register a few months ago I figured it sounded like fun. My plan was to run it for fun, and keep pretty low-key.

This was indeed a fun race, although certainly one of my worst race executions in recent history. Being at the beach meant it was entirely flat, and apparently I got a bit too excited about escaping the rolling hills of Central Park. My first mile felt fine but once I saw my split, I knew I’d pay for it later. Each mile hurt a bit more than the last, and my only goal the last 2 miles was just not to get passed by any women!

  • 6:03
  • 6:15
  • 6:29
  • 6:48 (oof)
  • 6:30

Official chip time: 32:05.85

I won my age group, and was the 8th woman overall. Plus, I won a cool vase for being in the top 10 women, along with a mug, a glass, a rose, a calendar, a hat, a t-shirt, and a turkey sub. All in all, not a bad way to kick off a fun weekend…if feeling like you’re dying while running 5 miles is your idea of fun, like it is mine.

After a shower and some much needed food, we headed over to our friend Mike’s house for some relaxation in the sun. Mike lives right along a lake with a nice dock and boat, and it was great to catch up with all our guy friends.

We went back to Emily’s, grilled some burgers, and headed out for a wild night fistpumping at the Jersey Shore. Just kidding, kind of.

Sunday morning we awoke and got ready for the weekend’s main event: our college friends Casey and Matt were getting married! Kristen drove us up to Flemington, NJ for the reception, with a stop in Metro Park to pick up Terence, whose train to Flemington was just cancelled. Thank goodness we could save him from the disasters of NJ Transit.

The ceremony was really great, and it was so surreal to see her in a wedding dress! Casey was part of the XC/Track teams with me at Villanova, and became a close friend through the miles and miles logged together. Even when she quit the team (and subsequently started hanging out more with Matt…good choice!), she was one of my favorite people. Matt is also one of the friendliest, nicest guys I have ever met; he seems to show her how much he loves her every day, but it was especially apparent how much they were both glowing on Sunday.

We drove to the reception in Berkeley Heights and spent the night drinking, dancing and celebrating. And yes, I admit I cried during their first dance to Train’s “Marry Me”. Judge me!

The next morning, we enjoyed a nice breakfast at the hotel and said goodbye to Casey and Matt as they were off to their honeymoon in Greece & Barcelona…so jealous!

My mom picked me up and took me back home to Montclair, and I spent the day with her and my sister who is home from college before her summer internship in LA starts. We did what we do best: shop! But we went to the Outlets and Bergen Town Center, so at least we scored some great deals. I love finding designer things for cheap. My favorite finds must be my Laundry by Shelly Segal dress, Cole Haan silver heels, and Marc Jacobs white shorts. SCORE!

We enjoyed an early dinner at Rosa Mexicano (best guacamole ever), where my sister and I both had their signature pomegranate margarita. Apparently they’re pretty strong because we were both definitely not 100% sober when walking out. Maybe that’s how I convinced her and my mom to go to Cups, a new self-serve frozen yogurt shop in Clifton that we’ve driven by in the past and I have been dying to try! We ended the evening full and happy watching Extreme Couponing and Real Housewives of NJ.

A successful Memorial Day weekend full of pretty much all my favorite things: sun/tanning, running, good food, drinking, and friends and family!

Needless to say I was not too excited to take the train back into the city for work. Tuesday night I decided to go to the CPTC track workout since Megan let me know it’d be 3×1 mile with 400 jog recovery. My legs weren’t totally trashed from the race, and I still needed to run, so luckily I had my sneakers and spare running clothes in my bag and headed to the track! The workout went really well, despite the heat:

  • 6:18
  • 6:14
  • 6:02

I actually felt really great– I was happy I started out slower and got a bit faster, as I did the exact opposite in my race. I am now a bit more confident in my abilities in track workouts, since the last was not so great. Hopefully will only help my speed for the Mini 10K next Saturday!

Tomorrow I’m taking a vacation day (can every week be a 3-day work week?) and heading back to Villanova with Dan for a long weekend. I’m so excited to go around our old stomping grounds, visit our favorite old restaurants and (of course) do my favorite run on the trails at Valley Forge!

Tell me: What was the best part of your Memorial Day weekend? What do you have planned for this weekend?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2011 6:55 pm

    Congrats on the win! Awesome job. 🙂

  2. June 2, 2011 9:46 pm

    Congrats, speedster!

    I love RHONJ….I can’t get enough. I really need to stop watching and start studying for my two exams (surgery exam on June 17th and an overall exam June 18th).

    Running the mini 10K, too, but have done NO speed stuff since before the marathon. So, I’m sure it will be super fun for me/death.

  3. June 3, 2011 12:55 am

    You really came out well with stuff from the race! Nice work!

    Sounds like a fabulous weekend back in Jersey! (Who ever thought I would say that??) The bride and groom look so happy…awww.

    Mile repeats…I have a love/hate relationship with them…

  4. June 3, 2011 7:57 am

    congrats on the race! I think it’s hilarious part of your loot was a turkey sub. I hope it was delicious.
    Looks like you had a great weekend. And hooray, it’s almost the weekend again! My highlight from last weekend is definitely wine tasting in Napa Valley with good friends. It doesn’t get much better than that!

  5. June 5, 2011 7:44 pm

    Nice job on the 5-miler and the race 🙂 And Kelly is correct – the best part of that loot IS the turkey sub! Hope to see you at a workout this week (I’m planning on Thursday’s tempo)!

Trackbacks

  1. Exciting Work News & A Love/Hate Relationship « Run, Lindsay, Run!
  2. NYRR Mini 10K Recap « Run, Lindsay, Run!

Leave a Reply

