Skip to content

Summer Day Adventures

June 25, 2011

It’s the weekend! But for me, my weekend began a day early. During the months of June, July and August my company lets us pick one day off per month to take as a ‘summer day’. With no real plans, I decided to take Friday (yesterday) off to relax!

Thursday night felt like an adventure; since I didn’t have to wake up early for work or get in a run, I was happy to stay out and do whatever. I went with a group of friends to Mercury Bar in Murray Hill post-work to grab some food and drinks. We left around 9:30 and started walking back to the subway to go our respective ways. It was a nice night out, not too humid or cool, so I decided I might want to walk home. Yes, from 34th and 3rd, to the UWS. We just kept walking up 3rd and eventually hit 52nd street, where Obama’s motorcade was heading out of the city! We got held up for about 10 minutes, and kinda snuck a shot of his limo!

Obama, is that you?

At this point, two of my friends got on the subway to head back home. Three of us continued walking up 3rd, and decided that the beers and fried bar food weren’t enough. We needed ice cream! We made it our mission to walk to the 16 Handles on the Upper East Side. We finally arrived at 10:59, to find out they close at 11! They almost didn’t let us in, but we luckily were the last customers.

Enjoying our froyo creations, we ‘dropped’ my friend off at her apartment a few blocks away, and cut crosstown through Central Park to the west side (yes, we walked through after 11pm at night, in the dark, two girls with froyo.. totally safe. Hope you’re not reading this, Mom!)

I finally made it home around midnight and passed out full and happy after walking over 60 blocks uptown and from 2nd ave to Riverside Ave. I just mapped the entire evening was about 5.75 miles worth of walking. Felt good to just get out there and walk!

I kicked off my summer day off by sleeping in until 11:30am (amazing!). It was not the nicest day in NYC, kinda rainy, humid and overcast. I had originally planned to lay out in Central Park with a book and get a tan, but that was not in the cards today. It ended up being for the best, because I didn’t feel guilty in the slightest for sleeping in and laying in bed a bit.

After breakfast in bed, I decided it was time for a run. I headed to Central Park for a favorite weekend route, a full outer loop of the park- plus some add ons to/from my apartment is about 8 miles. Despite the humidity (I was so sweaty it may as well have been raining), it was an awesome run!

I felt really strong and was able to pick it up at the end, and was my longest run since the Mini 10K! The only thing I’ve noticed with my Garmin is that my first mile is always a bit off because of the poor satellite reception amidst the tall buildings until I get into the park. See how my pace is all wacky?

Does this happen to any other NYC-ers? I always wait to start my run until I find a good satellite reception, but this happens quite often and it frustrates me since I know I am running faster and I’ve gone more than a mile by the time it hits the mile mark. I know tall city buildings are likely the cause, but…annoying.

After my run, I refueled with breakfast part 2!

New fave combo: Kashi Go Lean, Banana, Blueberries, Almond Milk and Protein Powder (makes milk a little creamier/thicker)

I spend the rest of the day lounging around the apartment more, and finally decided that one night at 16 Handles was not enough. I had to return!

The Upper West Side store was celebrating their ‘Grand Opening’ (even though they’ve been open about 2 months now) with 16% off!

This delicious creation may or may not have cost about $8.

I also decided I didn’t quite do enough walking last night, so I walked all the way across town to Target, fueled by the sugary goodness of 16 Handles.

By the time I arrived at 116th and Pleasant, my legs were kinda tired. I guess running 8 miles and walking so much will do that. I mapped I walked a total of 6 miles between my trip to 16 Handles and Target and home. In flip flops. At Target, I had some stuff to return, and then of course found $100 worth of more stuff I ‘needed to have!

What can I say, Target is a city girl’s wonderland. Now if I only had a car, so I didn’t have to carry it all home. πŸ™‚ Okay, I took the bus most of the way home because the bags were heavy and my feet were tired.

All in all, a relaxing (and pretty productive!) day off just for some me time. I love keeping busy and going out and doing things with friends and family, but sometimes a day entirely to myself is just what I needed. Now off to start the rest of the real weekend– which will be full of spending time with friends (a winery tour on Sunday!) and not quite as much ridiculous walking πŸ™‚

How do you spend your days off from work/school/etc.? Do you tend to be super productive, or lounge around and do nothing?

And, if you have a Garmin in the city, do you have any issues with satellite?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2011 12:05 pm

    I’m going to have to pay more attention to my Garmin. My first mile is always noticeably slower than my later miles, but I assumed that was because I was warming up – I’ve never paid attention to the average pace read! Hm, I would love to think that it’s my Garmin’s fault…

  2. June 25, 2011 12:14 pm

    I am EXTREMELY jealous of the “summer days off.” Everywhere should implement this, as well as an afternoon siesta like the Spaniards/Mexicans.

    Which protein powder did you use?

    I’m thinking of getting the nike GPS watch. Right now I’m using my sportband so no satellite issues. I keep sleeping in while I’m at home and running mid-day, which is stupid because thats the hottest part of the day, but I tell myself its good for “heat tolerance training.” Sure….

  3. June 25, 2011 6:44 pm

    I live about a mile from the park and I usually don’t even start my Garmin until I get to the park bc it is all weird and usually doesn’t even find a satellite. I guess that is what I get for living in midtown!

    Love 16 handles!! Yum!! And the winery tour sounds great too πŸ™‚

  4. June 26, 2011 11:31 pm

    ha! I may or may not have spent $8 at 16 Handles recently too. hmmf. πŸ™‚ I love being productive on my days off, but getting some relaxing me time in too, and would probably do something similar to what you did! I can’t get enough of that Target.

    My Garmin is usually pretty good on the UES before I get to the park, but I know tons of people that live in other parts of the city that have problems like you

  5. June 26, 2011 11:48 pm

    I love walking all over the city! I’ll often walk instead of taking the subway…let’s face it, sometimes it doesn’t talk all that much longer to walk! (Especially if it involves the crosstown bus…) And 16 Handles just makes it that much better!

    My Garmin does okay in the city…it’s certainly not perfect, and sometimes it gets messed up on the UES before the park. I know about how far it is to the park from my apartment (thanks, gmap pedometer!), so I base mileage off of that if it’s really wacky.

  6. June 28, 2011 1:51 pm

    I don’t have any “summer days off” but I try to maxmize my weekends and nighttimes as much as possible πŸ˜‰

    I have so many problems with my Garmin, and it’s brand-new. It makes me a little sad that it’s so hard to find satellite reception (twice recently I’ve had to start races without the satellite on, because it couldn’t get reception in the 15 minutes beforehand). During the times it does work though, it’s exhilarating to have all of that information at your hands!

Trackbacks

  1. Take Me To The Vino! « Run, Lindsay, Run!

Leave a Reply

