Skip to content

And it Begins…Marathon Training

July 10, 2011

Thank you all so much for the awesome comments on my last post on body confidence. I thought it was so awesome to hear many of you share the same struggles, and ultimately celebrate what our bodies are capable of doing rather than feeling down or unsatisfied.

Speaking of what our bodies can do, this past week marked week 1 of my ‘official’ NYC Marathon training! After the Mini 10K race in early June, I took a good few weeks to just rest and run how long I wanted to, when I wanted to. I kicked off this week ready to go and really excited about training again!

I’ve developed a loose plan for this year’s Marathon training, and will probably share it later this week. I still need to sit on it a bit before putting it out there, and think about some other areas I’d like to focus on this training cycle.

At least week 1 just called for around 30-35 miles for the week, and attempting to get in a road workout and ‘long’ run if I could. Mission accomplished!

Here’s how the week played out: 36.5 total miles

  • Sun: 3 miles easy in Riverside Park, humid and rainy
  • Mon: Off- Fourth of July!
  • Tues: 7 miles in Central Park
  • Weds: 6 miles in Riverside Park in am, Total Body Conditioning class after work
  • Thurs: CPTC Team Workout (3.1 miles in 20:27 [Harlem Hills..gah!], 1 mile in 6:15 [kinda downhill]) 8.5 total for day
  • Fri: Off!
  • Sat: 12 miles…longest run in a while!

Thursday’s workout was pretty rough. It was my first time doing any speed since the Mini 10K, and my butt/hamstrings were a bit tight from Wednesday night’s Total Body Conditioning class. Nonetheless, I was really pleased with my times considering how awful I felt. I think some of the distances might have been a bit short but I’ll take it. It was great to get back out there with the team and push through the discomfort. I kept reminding myself that I have to start somewhere, and I would have never put in that effort solo.

Saturday’s run was my favorite! Although I had no need to get up super early on a Saturday morning, I knew I wanted to get in a long-ish run and when I saw Megan, Ali and Kelly were meeting at 7:30 am in the park I figured it’d be a great opportunity to have company and beat the heat.

Don't we look like we're ready for an 80s workout video? (Thanks for being our professional photog, Ali!)

 

I went to Dan’s house on Long Island for dinner on Friday night after work, so didn’t get back into the city until around midnight. So, I was pretty tired when my alarm went off at 6:50 and never would have gotten out the door if I wasn’t meeting company.

I ran around 2 miles to the meeting point and then we continued along the bridle path to avoid a NYRR race, and the miles flew by! I loved running with them and not worrying about pace at all: I just wanted to get in the distance, I didn’t care how fast or slow. We all peeled off at different points and by the time I made it home, I had covered 12 miles! Average pace of 8:36, which was perfect for me. It’s still so early in training, and I really don’t think I would have been able to finish all 12 miles if I had gone much faster.

I can already tell this marathon training cycle is off to a better start than the last! I’m getting in workouts and long runs starting earlier in the cycle, which will hopefully set a strong base and pay off come November 6th. Here’s to staying healthy and enjoying many more workouts and long runs with running buddies!

And, many more trips to 16 Handles..the perfect marathon training refuel. This may or may not have been my dinner…don’t judge.

After sleeping in and lounging most of the morning, I’m off to do a bit of cooking and baking in preparation of tonight’s cooking club with friends! And…a 4-6 mile run may or may not happen depending on if I want to brave the heat.

What time do you typically do your weekend runs? What was the best workout you had this weekend? I love sleeping in, and find it hard to get up so early to beat the heat in the summer. Meeting people makes it easier to get out the door, but I would love to be able to run around noon-2 every day like I can in the fall/winter!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2011 12:10 pm

    Loved running with you yesterday — and love that we all refueled at some point with 16 Handles. Hehe.

    Let’s absolutely do it again. Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

  2. July 10, 2011 12:42 pm

    Like you, I’m also getting the longer runs in earlier in this training cycle. Here in TX, that means getting out the door by 7:30 on Saturdays– no more “getting up whenever” like I did in NYC last summer!

    I think “knowing” other bloggers running NYC adds to this year’s excitement. Last year I only “knew” Megan from reading her blog and didn’t personally know anyone running the race. You all also make me really miss running in Central Park. Hope to get to see you ladies in November! 🙂

  3. July 10, 2011 2:58 pm

    I typically do a longish run on the weekend or a run with a friend. I’m terrible about getting my lr done in the am but know I need to this time around with the summer heat (prev marathons have been spring).

    My fave workout this week was the race today! I’m pretty shocked with how I did considering I’ve done 1 workout since may and just leisurely jogs beyond that. Two friends of mine and I ran the whole thing together and crossed the finish all cheesy holding hands. It was fun, beyond that throw up omg going to die feeling.

  4. July 10, 2011 5:09 pm

    Loved our run! That was the best run I’ve had in a while, thanks to you ladies! You know I love early a.m. runs 🙂

    That is a beautiful cup of 16 Handles. I think all of us alone will keep them in business this summer 🙂

  5. July 11, 2011 11:19 am

    Looks like a great first week of training! Getting done what you want to get done + having fun while doing it is the best. You ladies are so adorable – love the unplanned coordinating outfits 🙂 I always do best when I get my long runs done in the AM, especially in the summer heat, but on vacation/weekend getaways that doesn’t always happen.
    All of your NYCers and your 16 Handles are making me want froyo so badly!

  6. July 11, 2011 4:00 pm

    80’s clothes and 16 handles FTW! So happy we were able to run some miles together. Assuming I get out of work on time, I plan on going to Tony’s Thursday night workout 🙂

  7. July 12, 2011 12:36 pm

    My marathon group meets at 6:30 am every Sat…SO hard to wake up that early. And the worst part about getting up that early is that it STILL is hot out. Sigh.

  8. July 12, 2011 4:44 pm

    That fro yo has tons of colors going on so that means tons of nutrients, obviously.
    I try to do my weekend runs in the morning to free up my day, but it doesnt always work out that way. I’d much rather go for a evening run anyway.

  9. July 12, 2011 5:35 pm

    I’m so jealous of your long run…hopefully I’ll be able to join in on one soon!

    Now that it’s summer, I hope to get my long runs in early, although I am NOT a morning person, so sometimes that doesn’t happen. Gone are the days of winter when I could run at any time of day!

    Best workout this week? Had some good mile repeats!

  10. July 13, 2011 6:22 am

    Wow, I’m so glad I just discovered your blog! I’ve never met Ali, but Kelly and Megan are totally awesome:) 16 Handles is totally the best post-run recovery food.

    I’m actually attempting to run a sub 3:00 NYC marathon this November also, so let me know if you ever need a running buddy. We could motivate eachother to maintain a faster than normal pace!

  11. July 13, 2011 9:34 am

    Woo hoo! Great running! You are still my running hero and always will be ya little speed demon ;-). It’s 9:30 AM and your post made me crave 16 handles…..

Trackbacks

  1. Lesson Learned | The Runner's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

