Skip to content

City Kids Head to the Lake

July 20, 2011

As much as I love NYC in the summer, sometimes it just feels good to get away to the great outdoors and R-E-L-A-X. This past weekend I had the opportunity to head to my friend Terence’s lake house in Pennsylvania. It was the perfect getaway—it felt like time just stopped there and Terence’s family were the best hosts, with plenty of fun activities planned.

We arrived Friday night to a stocked fridge and got down to work with some beer pong and civil war.

We woke up Saturday morning and enjoyed a run around the lake (bit less than 4 miles)—quite a change of pace to run on quiet, scenic roads and paths without seeing a car or other people!

Wrighter Lake

And then the games began…this weekend was full of nonstop competition! It was awesome.

Races!

Margarita Volleyball. The best kind of volleyball.

Tubing!!

The gang

I enjoyed a nice scenic solo run on Sunday, just an easy 5.75 miles. Although I ran in the heat of the day around 2pm, it felt so much cooler out in the country and shaded roads so it wasn’t bad at all. Kinda peaceful, actually. We watched the Women’s World Cup (sad loss…) and headed back into the city after the game.

Goodbye Wrighter Lake!

This week so far has been a bit hectic between work and social plans (read: eating at fancy restaurants 5 out of the 7 nights this week, for work and NYC Restaurant Week), but I’m aiming to hit 40 miles this week. I know, I still need to share a post on my marathon training plan. Coming soon, promise!

What is your favorite vacation spot? Are you a city kid or country dweller? How’s running going this week amidst the heat wave? I always thought I was all about the hustle and bustle of NYC, but after last weekend I’m just about sold on moving to the middle of nowhere and escaping the stress…maybe. 😉 This week has been pretty hot and sweaty in terms of running but I’m chugging along!

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2011 8:40 pm

    OOO favorite vacation spot – thats hard. My fam went to Nantucket a few years ago – that was awesome. Sorrento, Italy is amazing, too. Not like I go there often or anything – but, if I could, I would. Going home to TN is like a vacation for me so I guess thats my fave vacation spot in recent memory. (Havent taken a real vacation in a long time – no time and no money as a med student!)

    The running this week has been….umm ROUGH. So hot and humid. I went to bikram yoga on Monday and I was like umm why don’t we just do this outside?!?

  2. July 20, 2011 8:43 pm

    What a fun weekend! I love all the competition involved 🙂 It is really nice to escape the city for a few days and just get a change of scenery and some peace/R&R. I always find it nice when I can easily fit in my running on vacation — looks like you did that no problem. I am going on vacation soon, and I’ll need to keep in mind that if I don’t get up and run in the morning, it is going to be way too hot!

  3. July 20, 2011 9:50 pm

    Oh that looks so beautiful and relaxing! My favorite summer was the summer I was in the South of France…Monaco, Cannes, Nice, St. Tropez…but really just getting out of the city for the weekend is wonderful. I love the city but I am starting to wonder if San Francisco might be more my scene.

    This heat wave is brutal. So far it hasn’t affected me too much but I am doing the NYRR Long Training Run as part of my 22 miler this weekend and Saturday is supposed to be hot hot hot!!! Hope I survive!

  4. July 21, 2011 7:59 am

    that looks like such a fun getaway! I love games and water fun. I love NYC too, but sometimes the change of pace that comes with being in the “country” is awesome – I totally agree with you. I get why people have weekend homes out there… if only it were affordable for us all! Good running with you yesterday! I can’t wait for this crazy heat to go away…

  5. July 21, 2011 10:00 am

    ahhh this is such a tease to see when i’m sitting in sweltering nyc heat haha. looks like a great getaway. my favorite vacation spot is anything at a beach… especially love southern italian coast — sorrento. i’m a definite city kid, but love getting out of the city on vacations. as far as running this week? it’s kinda a suckfest, haha. i’ve slept in a bit in the morning and will be doing my second run on a treadmill this week. boo. enjoy your vacation!

  6. marathon winer permalink
    July 21, 2011 11:46 am

    It’s so crazy how LITTLE you notice the noise of the city until you’re out in the country or the burbs and you say “what’s that weird sound? oh, it’s SILENCE!” Definitely nice to get away now and then, but I do sooo love this city!

  7. July 21, 2011 12:30 pm

    That looks like an awesome weekend! Love the way the light and sunset look on the water. Nice job getting out there for runs – never an easy task when you go away during the summer 🙂

  8. July 22, 2011 10:00 am

    Ah tubing is totally the perfect hot summer day activity!!! Your whole get-a-away looks like so much fun! I’m definitely a city dweller, but get that itch to get away a lot, especially in the summer. I enjoy going away to a more country/suburban area for a vacation, but always love coming back to the city.

    Running in this heat wave has been a challenge to say the least. I’ve been waking up 1-2 hours earlier to get in a run before the sun is bright. Good job on keeping up with your runs on vacation, I know that can be tough!

  9. July 22, 2011 2:13 pm

    Looks like a great weekend away. I love getting out of NYC for the weekends in the summer. There are no breezes in NYC. But elsewhere the breezes can be divine. It always surprises me. We are going to Maine in August and I am SOOO looking forward to it!

  10. July 26, 2011 11:54 pm

    This looks like an amazing escape from the city! Some of my friends in high school had lake houses up in Wisconsin, and I was always so jealous of them. Loved going up with them and running around in my bathing suit, tubing, sitting on the dock, riding around in the boat, eating delicious food, not a care in the world…

    I can’t decide if I like city life or suburban life better. I see both sides, but I think while I’m young I should soak up the city life. That being said, I love getting out at times and I think it would be hard to live anywhere else after living in NYC. It’s really like no other place…

Leave a Reply

