Skip to content

Mid-Week Long Runs & Soft Serve Fruit

August 18, 2011

I am so excited tomorrow is finally Friday! Despite taking a sick day on Monday to rest up and do basically nothing, I still felt as this week was moving exceptionally slow.

Bright and early Wednesday morning, I met up with Megan, Ali, Kelly and Elyssa bright and early (like, I left my apartment before 6:00am early…) to get in my long run for the week, 13 miles. If you take a look at my training log, you’ll see most weeks I’ve been doing my long runs during the middle of the week versus the weekend. I’m an advocate of the mid-week long run for a few reasons:

  • Since it’s kinda early in Marathon training, my long runs have just been 12-13 miles. Totally manageable distance before work if you want it to happen. I’ll probably continue mid-week long runs until my long runs reach 15-16 miles.
  • It allows me to travel on the weekends (or just sleep in…) without having to worry about squeezing in a long run.
  • Planning a run-commute is a great way to do a mid-week long run, as you can either run a few extra miles (in lieu of taking the subway/driving to work) or get some extra sleep. Unfortunately, my work does not have a shower but my gym is a few blocks away. If I am planning a run commute, I’ll bring a change of clothes and my shower stuff the day before and end my run at the office to grab my stuff and head to the gym. Don’t worry about scaring the front desk security when you enter your office building soaked in sweat; they’re probably just amazed at how bad ass you are.

I highly recommend mid-week long runs if you’re traveling for the weekend, too busy, or want to get a bit more R&R. It’s also good prep (for me), as I’ll shift my long runs to the weekend as the mileage goes up, but I’ll likely still look to get in 10-12 on Wednesdays as a weekly ‘short-long’ run. I did many of those as run-commutes last year and it was great being able to wake up at 6:45 and still squeeze in 12 miles before work!

Tonight’s workout called for 5 miles at half-marathon pace, a very brief recovery, and 1K basically giving whatever you had. The one downside to mid-week long runs is feeling a bit lethargic heading into Thursday workouts, but I’d probably be tired no matter what.

Soooo it was a bit longer than 5 miles. Also, my time for 5 miles was about 15-20 seconds faster than I actually raced during the Club Champs 5M race, whoops. This workout had us starting on W72nd street, heading counterclockwise south on the lower loop, coming up cat hill on the east side, cutting across the 102nd street transverse, and coming down the west side. I wanted to start conservative, as I really felt zonked at the end of last week’s workout, and I was happy I was able to bring down the pace a bit each mile. Mile 4 always gets me with the rolling hills on the west side heading south. Hills are not one of my strengths, never have been and never will be, and rolling hills are the worst.

Nonetheless, I felt like I was able to really push at the end and I felt really strong mentally. Although I had to continually repeat a mantra of “You. Can. Do. It.” and “Strong. Steady. Smooth.” in my head, and maybe outloud once or twice as I gasped for air. Hey, whatever works.

My 1K time was exactly 4:00; which is 6:27 pace. At that point, I was just lucky to be moving. Oof.

————

All this hard running deserves a good treat! I’ve been meaning to check out the Soft Serve Fruit Company for a while, and yesterday just happened to be their 1 year anniversary! In celebration, they were offering $1 Kid Size treats with all the toppings you wanted. Since I’m a sucker for a good deal, I stopped by after a late-ish night at work.

I got banana and raspberry swirl since I couldn’t decide between the two and almost every topping under the sun. It’s no 16 Handles (my true love<3), but it’s actually a tasty and healthier alternative– just real fruit, sugar cane and water. Yum!

Since evening workouts leave me a bit parched and sweaty (yum), I decided to try to re-create my own ‘soft serve fruit’ when I got home, with a twist.

Based on the classic recipe of ‘soft serve banana‘; simply whipping up a frozen banana in a food processer though I add a bit of soymilk to make it blend easier. But, I knew a bit of protein would probably be good for my muscles post-workout and make it a bit more filling, I added a scoop of protein powder along with some frozen berries for flavor.

Yum! Who knew bananas + berries could turn into something so creamy! It’s no Soft Serve Fruit Company, but it’s pretty darn good for homemade.

I’ve got a busy but exciting weekend ahead as I’m headed out to NJ to spend some time with college friends Friday night, then back into the city Saturday morning to do the Great Urban Race (should be interesting!). Afterwards, I’m headed out to Long Island on Saturday night and Sunday for a relaxing weekend with Dan; I bought a Living Social Escapes deal for a quaint hotel and we’re going to go celebrate his birthday a weekend early!

Do you ever do your long runs during the week, or are you strictly a weekend long-run kinda person? If you do weekends, do you prefer to knock it out Saturday or save it until Sunday? What’s the best recipe you’ve made this week?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2011 10:47 pm

    I’d LOVE to do my long runs on Saturday mornings and have the rest of the weekend free, but my body is not a fan. I alwayyyssss sleep through my alarm on Saturdays bc I’m so exhausted from the week, so Sunday works out better for me.

  2. August 18, 2011 10:55 pm

    My schedule in 2nd and 3rd yr med school (when I first started running) didnt really allow for mid-week long runs, but my “research year” does now! I’m in a wedding in Sept so I will def be doing a mid week long run then. Otherwise, I’ve still be doing them on the weekend (usually Sat am), but am not opposed to moving it to Fri am to get it over with!

    I need to go to CPTC just learn how to do a tempo run correctly without killing myself the first mile, then dying. You guys got any 60-70 year olds I can run with 🙂

  3. August 18, 2011 11:17 pm

    You’re a BEAST. I seriously didn’t even see you the first time tonight because you FLEW past me. Afterward I was like “Welp, that blur must have been Speedy Lindsay.” My hero.

    And I wish I could do run commutes to work, but my gym isn’t close enough to my office, sadly. Life is so hard.

    Looking forward to running (or just eating/drinking) again with you soon!

  4. August 19, 2011 12:59 am

    I would love to be able to get a long run out of the way before work, but as per the theme of my latest post, I’m a huge baby about being up before 7. I fear I would be exhausted all day! Right now the long runs are creeping above 15, but maybe I’ll try a cutback (<13) sometime…

    Also love what you said about security. I don't care what they think…I am scared of running into the boss, though!

  5. August 19, 2011 7:54 am

    So impressed!! I have done long runs during the week, but it was mostly when I was in grad school and had a much more flexible schedule, and always because I couldn’t fit it in on the weekend for whatever reason. I think it’d be tough for me to fit in a long run before work (though I’m sure I could do it if I actually was dedicated about it). I could potentially run to work since it’s not that far away, but we don’t have a shower or a gym anywhere nearby so I’d have to be sweaty the entire day (have I mentioned that I work in the health field? You’d think there, of all places, they’d be encouraging employees to be active! But anyway….).

    These days I usually save my long runs for Sundays. Times when I have done them on Saturday I’ve been really happy to have them out of the way, but when it comes down to it – I love having Saturday to prep, and I love heading into Monday knowing it’s a rest day.

  6. August 19, 2011 8:48 am

    I think I have an irrational fear of running to work. Like, what if I don’t make it (and thus don’t make it to work that day)? Or what if something happens on the way? As you can see, I make a lot of sense, all the time. 😉

    Haven’t cooked at all this week because I’ve been A) sick, B) scrambling to find someone to take my roommate’s spot as our subletter just fell through. Ah, life.

  7. August 19, 2011 11:26 am

    You had a great workout! I wish I had known you were right there…I was dying in lonelyland by myself.

    The longest I’ve ever run before on a workday was 14 miles, with a tempo portion in the middle. Oh, and when I got back to my house, my roommate had locked me out, forcing me to break in through my bedroom window, shower, and get to work. Needless to say, mid-week long runs are not my favorite. My legs get tired, and I get cranky.

  8. August 19, 2011 3:50 pm

    I run long during the week if I have weekend plans, but usually try to stick to a saturday long run. You are awesome for getting so much done on Wednesday (and it was lovely running with you, as always 🙂 I’m trying to incorporate semi-long runs into my training on wednesdays, but they’ll top out at aroun 10-11 miles. we’ll see how that goes!

    Stupidly, i went to 16 Handles on the day of the $1 deal at Soft Serve Fruit Co and spent $7 on froyo.

  9. August 19, 2011 8:45 pm

    Wishing I had something comparable to that yogurt in my fridge after reading this…

    Anywayyy I like knockin’ out the long run on Saturdays at the moment. Too tired to go out Fridays anyway! But I do love a shorter long run during the week too – I’ve been doing 8 on Wednesdays but now that it’s getting darker it’s tough to fit the whole thing in! ahhhh 😦

    Have a GREAT weekend in NJ and on LI! xo

  10. August 19, 2011 9:05 pm

    I do my long runs whenever my schedule allows! Sometimes that means a Tuesday, but that also means I’m probably not working that day. Oh nursing…

Leave a comment