Skip to content

Run, Eat, Work, Run, Sleep, Repeat.

October 2, 2010

It’s been a while. And I’ve missed writing, I’ve just been terribly busy between working 12 hour days, running 60 mile weeks and attempting to have some sort of social life. It’s EXHAUSTING! But of course, I weirdly love it. Ahh, the life of a runner.

Where do I even start? It’s been about 2 weeks! I suppose I last left off after my longest run– that left me pretty drained for the entire week. Legs were a bit heavy and my calves especially were sore, but I have to keep reminding myself that this is the heaviest training period pre-Marathon, so I need to put in the work now, and worry about getting my legs fresh during the taper.

I don’t have my running log in front of me now, but know I hit 60.5 miles the week of 9/19! I don’t think I’ve EVER cracked 60 miles before, so it was quite exciting that I’m able to run that much and I’m still *knock on wood* in one piece and not injured.

The highlight of last weekend was going down to DC to run RAGNAR RELAYS ! For those who may not know (heck, I hadn’t heard of the race series before I was invited on a team..) it’s a 200 mile relay race run by a team of 12 (or 6, if you’re a CrAzY ultra team). Each person runs 3 legs, and the race starts Friday and goes into Saturday.

Our team (GO Frozen Burrito Legion!) finished 3rd overall in a time of 24:54:45, a fantastic showing out of well over 200 teams total. It was crazy, I ran at like 2:30pm Friday for a hilly 4.6 mile leg, at 10:30 pm Friday for a 2.5 mile leg and at like 5:30 am for a 6.6 mile leg! It was a lot of running at crazy hours, and I slept for perhaps 1.5 hours while sitting up in our minivan. And only ate non-meal foods (granola bars, bananas, pretzels, gatorade..)

Here are some fun pictures!

Totally normal...'Nova Reunion at 8am in a parking lot (+Corey)

Frozen Burrito Legion!

Oh hey, just running up a mountain...

Night runners!

We're DONE!!!

It was a fun experience, and I’d TOTALLY do another one!

Since all of those runs (13.7 miles total…) were done at or faster than a tempo pace (felt like i flyinggg on that 2.5 miler since it was so short!) my legs were sore AGAIN from the speed. At least Sunday was off since it took FOREVER to get home from DC and encountered numerous obstacles along the way (stopping at 3 different brunch places all with long waits until settling at IHOP, getting a flat tire on the way home, subways running local allll the way uptown, grabbing terences bag accidentally and then my cell phone dying so having to call him at a PAYPHONE with my remaining 2 quarters to meet up on the subway tracks) and on Monday morning was surprisingly not too bad.

This week was a little lower mileage with a day off, and then crazy working hours! I need to double check on my log, but I think I was around 58-59 miles or so. I was hoping to get up over 60-62 but LIFE gets in the way!

I’m currently in the quaint town of Freeport, Maine for a business trip. It’s been quite laid back while has been nice. The FALL FOLIAGE is so great here and as much of a city girl as I currently am, I LOVE LOVE LOVE the country and outdoors! It’s also great for running on the backroads– pretty sure I only saw about 8 cars in total on my runs!

Yesterday I did an easy 6 in the POURING rain. My legs were kinda stiff from flying, and the weather was crappy, but I headed out anyway to get in the miles. BOY the Freeport area is MUCH hillier than I thought; lots of rolling hills and farms.

This morning, I woke up extraaa early to get in a planned 20 miles. I google mapped a route and prayed I’d remember it. Well, I was a little slower to get out the door this morning (must have been the glasses of wine last night…) and then I stopped a few times along the way briefly because I took my camera (pictures soon!!) to capture all of the great sights. So, ended up only doing 18 miles total since I had to rush back to shower and get to a Pumpkin Pie making class by 10am! I know 18 is STILL a good distance, but I really wanted to get in another good 20-miler. Guess there is always next weekend in Colorado…More on that later, hopefully…have to head out to dinner with the team! Freeport isn’t all play and no work 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2010 10:18 am

    Congratulations on your 3rd place!

Trackbacks

  1. Happy 1st Birthday, Run Linds Run! « Run, Lindsay, Run!

Leave a comment