Skip to content

Hibernation Season

December 8, 2010

I began my “official” build-up for the NYC Half Marathon this week, marking my return back to a more structured running schedule since I completed the NYC Marathon just over a month ago. Hard to believe it’s only been one month, it feels much further in the past.

And so far, the build-up has been rough! Not only am I out of shape (2 weeks off reverted me back to a huffing and puffing shuffling mess), but it is getting COLD and layering up to run at 7am is the least appealing thing when given the option of staying in my nice cozy bed.

Via Google Images

I keep reminding myself of a few things when dealing with getting back into shape and dealing with cold weather training:

 

  • Build-ups are always hard. You’re getting your base back, and it’s going to be rough at first but you have to keep going longer and faster in order for runs to begin to feel easy again. Pushing through the rough phase will get you where you want to be, avoiding runs or cutting them short because you’re tired will only delay the build-up.
  • Winter weather is just unpleasant, not unmanageable. Nobody likes the feeling of their fingertips going numb or that weird locked jaw feeling you get in the cold (or is that just me?) and these uncomfortable feelings make it more appealing to stay inside or skip your run. But, I remind myself I’ve been running through winters outdoors since I was 14. Sure, practices used to be at slightly warmer afternoon hours, but I did it then and I can do it again! Cold sucks, but its only temporary and a warm shower feels amazing!
  • This too shall pass, and it’s not all bad! Just get through a few months of this, and soon it’ll be March and you will be running in shorts and a t-shirt again. And, winter weather allows you to run almost any time of day, at least you don’t have to wake up at the crack of dawn to squeeze in miles before it hits 90 degrees like the summer! Sleeping in, leisurely digesting breakfast, and heading out around 2 p.m. is more my cup of tea.

I’m aiming for 30 miles this week but might fall a tad short due to a pretty busy work schedule this week, and this lingering tired feeling I cannot seem to shake. I need more sleep and less stress!

And, I just created our family Christmas card online…aw! Don’t me and my sister look related? 🙂 Counting down the days until Christmas is here!

Swirling Ornaments Christmas Card
Get custom photo Christmas cards online at Shutterfly.com.
View the entire collection of cards.
3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2010 3:20 pm

    I need to take some of your inspiration!!! 🙂
    Sara

  2. Terence permalink
    December 8, 2010 10:34 pm

    i think someone is missing from that christmas card. just sayingggg

Trackbacks

  1. Happy 1st Birthday, Run Linds Run! « Run, Lindsay, Run!

Leave a comment