Skip to content

Running Buddies

April 23, 2011

This week’s mileage ended up 51.5 miles, largely due to my new-found running buddies. Next week I’m traveling to CA (Los Angeles & Carlsbad Beach) for work so I probably won’t get in as many miles or a workout, so I’m glad this week was solid.

  • Sun: 10 miles in Riverside Park, out and back
  • Mon: 7 miles after work, pretty good
  • Tues: 5 miles in morning, really tired and awful. Hip/IT pretty sore.
  • Weds: OFF
  • Thurs: 14 total– 1.75 shakeout in morning (I like to get the legs moving before a PM workout), 12.25 miles total CPTC workout (2 warmup from apt, 6 workout, 4.25 recovery jogs/cooldown)
  • Fri: 3 miles easy recover
  • Sat: 12.5 miles long run

I always used to run in a group. Through high school and college, there was always someone to run with, and I dreaded the summers spent alone at home, logging mile after mile solo, longing to get back with my group of friends who would help pass the time.

When I moved to NYC, I just started doing all my runs alone. I started to cherish that alone time, to be with my thoughts and do my own thing, doing on my schedule and not worrying about keeping up with anyone. And, I still love those alone runs, but lately I have been reminded of how much I miss running with people. Last week, I wrote about how I finally overcame my silly fears and made it to my first CPTC workout and had a blast!

Well, I was back this Thursday night for another go with CPTC and was happy I stepped back out there. Susan showed up for her first workout and it was great to meet her! The workout kicked my butt, but that’s a good thing, right?

  • 3.11 miles in 20:26; 6:34 pace (about 2 lower loops- was a little longer than 3 for some reason)
  • 2 miles in 13:03, 6:34 pace (up cat hill on the east side)
  • 1 mile in 6:27 (rolling west side hills)

The pace was meant to be at half-marathon pace, and I thought we’d go around 6:45 or so but we always kept picking it up. I was really working to stay with the group and not fall off too much.

This morning I was extremely grateful for running buddies, as a girl I met at CPTC and I had arranged to meet up for a long run. When I awoke to a cold and rainy morning, the only thing getting me out the door was knowing she’d be at the corner of 110th and CPW at 9am. I couldn’t just stay in my warm bed for a few more hours, even though that’s all I wanted to do.

Rain, rain go away..

Once we got out there, the rain was kind of relaxing and the conversation flowed. 12.5 soaking miles later, I was back at home and ready to foam roll and hop in the warm shower. Seriously, the miles flew by and I wasn’t counting down the miles and minutes until I was done like I sometimes do on my own. We kept an average of 7:50 pace which was perfect for me! I’m really happy such a simple thing like returning to running with people has started to get me a bit more excited to head out for runs each day.

I still enjoy my alone time, but I’m going to make it a goal to meet up with others whenever I can. So, who wants to run with me?! 🙂

Do you prefer running with other people or alone? I think it’s important to have a nice balance between the two, though lately I’ve definitely started to remember why I loved running with other people so much!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2011 1:19 pm

    Here’s what it’s like to run a marathon: “My Marathon” Hope you like it. http://johnarcher11.wordpress.com/2011/04/23/my-marathon/
    . . ./John

  2. April 23, 2011 2:02 pm

    I like to switch it up – some runs I like to get out there alone (like on weekday morning runs), but sometimes it’s nice to have someone to push you along! I ran with a buddy this morning too – the 8 miles FLEW by, which I was grateful for! I wasn’t constantly looking at my Garmin!

  3. April 23, 2011 3:12 pm

    I like running with people, but it’s hard to find someone in the same pace range that lives nearby. My running friends that are local are all different paces than me, so, it doesn’t really work.

    Carlsbad is an awesome place to run, btw. Though maybe you already know that, I don’t know. It’s also pretty safe to run at any time of day, too. That’s where I do all my long runs – I start up by Oceanside/Carlsbad border and run down the 101/Coast Hwy. You get a some hills to work with but nothing overly steep or too long.

  4. April 23, 2011 3:29 pm

    Great week of workouts! I enjoy running alone and running with friends – depends on my mood and what I’m doing. It can be really nice and motivating to run with other people, and I kind of wish I could do more of my workouts with people because sometimes I think I let myself off too easy, and slow down as soon as I feel tired instead of pushing through.

  5. April 24, 2011 8:28 am

    Glad the workout kicked your butt too! But it definitely was great and fun to get out there and run with others. I was talking to another friend about CPTC, and he said he likes running by them in races because they always work together to go faster. There are definitely mental benefits to running with a group, although sometimes I just want to get lost in my run and run by myself. I agree that a good mix is best!

  6. April 24, 2011 2:45 pm

    Good for you for working out with the CPTC. I like to run alone…but I think I need to challenge myself more to push it 🙂

  7. April 24, 2011 7:11 pm

    that definitely looks like a butt kicking workout! I love running with buddies, but I love running solo too. I definitely try to keep a nice balance between the two and prefer to do tempos and speedowork by myself, and easier or long runs with buddies (much easier to chit chat that way!) 🙂

  8. Meggie permalink
    April 24, 2011 9:33 pm

    Running with a group keeps me motivated and is great for when I want a “social” run. Unfortunately, sometimes with my schedule or medical school work load, I’m not able, too. Fortunately, I have several med school buddies who also run, so we try to run together if we can. Running is still a pretty new thing for me so I’m still pretty motivated by my goals to get out there on my own, for now at least.

    Anyone have any tips for their 2nd marathon?

  9. April 26, 2011 12:04 pm

    Nice job with your second CPTC workout! That lower loop is surprisingly hilly. After a bit of a hiatus (err, since Feb?), I think I’m going to come back to Tony’s tempo workout this Thursday. Hope your trip to Cali this week is a good one – see you in CP sometime soon??

  10. April 29, 2011 2:08 pm

    mmmk i may or may not have just gone through all of your most recent posts soaking up all of your training and advice. haha

    LOVE your blog & just added you to my page. i would kill to be able to run as fast as you so that we could be training buddies in central park but i am so not there (yet… i hope!).

    villanova was my second choice school! (went to holy cross instead)

    have a great weekend! talk soon.
    xo

  11. May 3, 2011 11:49 am

    Yay for running buddies! Thanks for the shout out. I love running with others; it is motivating and really gets me to push myself to the next level and not get comfortable. Hope to run with you again soon!

Trackbacks

  1. Race Week & Piriformis Syndrome! « Run, Lindsay, Run!
  2. Happy 1st Birthday, Run Linds Run! « Run, Lindsay, Run!

Leave a comment