Skip to content

Good Eats & Sweaty Runs

July 23, 2011

It’s my favorite time of the year, NYC Summer Restaurant Week! I got started on Restaurant Week in college, since Philadelphia did a similar thing twice a year. Tons of restaurants throughout the city offer a three-course meal for $35 for dinner, or $24 for lunch. Good food + Good prices = Lots of dining out! Also, an excuse to try fancy restaurants I typically can’t afford for a regular dinner out 🙂

This week I was particularly lucky to enjoy Restaurant Week dinners at Park Avenue Summer, Blue Water Grill and The Hurricane Club. Plus, on Sunday I’m headed to Mercer Kitchen! Here’s a bit about each.

Park Avenue Summer

At the last minute, a small group of friends decided to go to Park Avenue Summer. I’ve been before, but it is honestly one of my favorite restaurants so I was dying to go back. The restaurant changes the menu and decor for each season, so it keeps it unique. I’ve been to Park Avenue Summer, Winter and Spring– but need to go to Autumn! We had 9:45 pm reservations, but got seated a bit earlier at 9:20. It was tough holding out for such a late meal, but so worth it.

Source: Park Avenue Summer

I got the Crispy Soft Shell Crab with Avocado and Strawberry Salad for the appetizer. So good! For my entree, I got the Grilled Filet Mignon with BBQ Brisket and Potato Salad. I was craving some steak and it was perfect! I ended up not even being able to finish it (and I rarely don’t clean my plate…) but saved the rest to put over a salad for lunch the next day.  For dessert, I opted for the passionfruit yogurt and rhubarb sorbet, which was so fresh and the perfect ending.

Blue Water Grill

I was really excited for Blue Water Grill, as I had never been and summer makes me crave seafood. However, I was a bit disappointed to find that they changed their restaurant week menu from what was posted online, taking off the fried oyster appetizer I had been eying, and switching the shrimp and scallops entree to just shrimp. Not cool, Blue Water Grill.

Source: Blue Water Grill

Despite the menu change, it was still a nice meal. We went with a large group of 8, and ended up splitting a few bottles of wine that were specially priced for Restaurant Week. I got the Golden Tomato Gazpacho soup (which was excellent!), opted for the Sauteed Alaskan King Salmon for my entree and the Creme Brulee Tart for dessert. I have recently been trying salmon more often, as I want to like it, but am afraid of making it myself. I figure if I’m going to try salmon, I should do it at a nice seafood restaurant! Overall, Blue Water Grill was nice, but I really wish they hadn’t swapped the menu. Made me feel a bit deceived.

Hurricane Club

I have never been to The Hurricane Club before, but I’ve been dying to go. For the food, but mostly for the DRINKS! Dan and I came here on Friday for a ‘date night’ and it was excellent and left me super full, and a bit drunk. I’d totally go back, Restaurant Week or not!

Source: The Hurricane Club

I got the Coconut Shrimp Poppers for the appetizer, which were so fresh and tasty. The Cashew Chicken entree was so flavorful, and we also got coconut rice and broccoli sides. I may or may not have stolen a few of Dan’s Honey-Glazed Baby Back Ribs which were delicious! For dessert, we both got the Pina Colada Soft Serve. It was light and so flavorful, with real coconut chunks. To drink, we got the #440 to share: T-Tiki Spiced, Pineapple, Kiwi and Ginger. It was flaming and had fun straws- whee!

Needless to say, this has been quite the indulgent week. And I’m feeling a bit full from all the rich, delicious food. But when restaurant week rolls around, you must enjoy! No complaints here 🙂

————

On the running front, this week has been pretty rough given the heat and late nights dining out. Nonetheless, I squeezed in a long run of 12 miles this Wednesday before the 100+ degree temps rolled around. I met up with Megan, Kelly and Natalie for a few miles around the bridle before going our own ways. I was around 7 by the time Megan peeled off, and was already soaked in sweat. The last few miles were especially rough, literally wringing my shirt out as I ran since it was getting so heavy. As I stood in the kitchen chugging water when I got home, I realized I was standing in a puddle. Of my own sweat. Sexy!

Generally, I try not to let the weather get to me too much. I can’t control the weather, nobody can. Co-workers especially are shocked when it’s 100 degrees out and I told them I ran that morning. Yes, it’s still hot that early. Yes, I sweat. A LOT. Yes, it’s hard and I get really tired. But when you’re committed to something, you find the time and motivation to do it. I might have to take the pace a bit easier in extreme temps (both hot and cold), but I get out there and get the miles in. I keep reminding myself that I’ve toughed it out through many, many summers in the past and by the time September/October rolls around, the crisp air will feel like such a relief and I’ll be happy I put in the work when it was tough. Most importantly, mutiple breaks at water fountains are a key element in my summer training plan 🙂

I’ll probably head to the gym in a few to get in some lifting and core work since I’ve been slacking lately, and decide if I want to squeeze in 2-3 miles to hit my planned 40 miles this week. I really don’t want to go outside at all, as I’m quite enjoying laying in bed blasting the AC, but I feel I should be a bit productive before an evening out with friends.

Have you ever done ‘Restaurant Week’? Where’s your favorite place to go? How are you getting through this “heatpocalypse”?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. July 23, 2011 2:41 pm

    Wow, you really made the most of Restaurant Week! I always wanted to take part, and this time I finally did – Ponte’s in Tribeca last week was pretty good, but Ilili in Flatiron last night blew me away! Your review makes me want to try Hurricane Club. Way to tough it out in this weather!

  2. July 23, 2011 3:44 pm

    I totally forgot it was restaurant week! Darn it. I’ve wanted to go to blue water grill for a while. I made it out today for a very hot and sweaty 10 miles in central park. It was tough but I was glad I went.

  3. July 23, 2011 3:47 pm

    I forgot to really take advantage of restaurant week this time but I have in the past and its fun! I am surviving the heat and trying to not let it affect me…surprisingly today’s 22 miler was not as bad as I expected it would be. I can’t wait to see how it all translates to cooler temperatures!! 🙂

  4. July 23, 2011 5:02 pm

    I’ve done restaurant week a few time but have yet to hit it up this year! I went to Mr. Chow one year – it was FANTASTIC!

    I ran 13 today and my friend and I ran slow and took a water break about every 2 miles. At the half way point we were both getting really hot so at our water stop we also just let ourselves cool off a bit by the breeze, which was much needed. We did that at each water stop for the second half.

    This heat has actually been really tough on my running, which is weird because it NEVER bothered me in the past with tennis or last summer running. I’m not sure what it is but I find myself getting very nauseous a lot. Today, I started getting chills and cramps from water, which sucked. I felt pretty awful – when we got back to my friend’s apt I downed a banana, a bunch of tortilla chips, and a coconut water. And then felt much better. So, I guess I need to work on my electrolyte intake when running. I need to find gatorade without the sugary high which makes me sick!

    Ok, sorry for this novel.

  5. July 23, 2011 5:44 pm

    I can’t believe I’m saying this, but I think I’m getting used to the Houston heat when it comes to shorter, early morning runs (long weekend runs are a different story. My speed has increased considerably and my splits are much more consistent. Bring it, NYC Marathon!

    My best Restaurant Week experience was in Summer 2009. My sister and I went to the Red Eye Grill in Midtown West. I had a yellowfin tuna burger with parsnip chips. Amazing!

  6. July 23, 2011 5:55 pm

    I’m so jealous of all your restaurant week dinners! I haven’t taken advantage this year and I’m so mad! All of those choices look great – I hope they extend restaurant week so I can get in on the action.

    This week has been the worst! But you’re right – getting out there and getting it done is important. Normal temps will feel so glorious compared to this week!

  7. July 23, 2011 5:56 pm

    i love restaurant week, and usually make all of them. this was the first one that i didn’t take advantage of in a while! i’ve gone to some good ones, but rouge tomate was a favorite.

    as for the heatpocalypse (btw, so hard to believe that a few short months ago we had a snowpocalypse), i’ve been finding places to spend my days so i don’t have to use my own air conditioning. so excited for tomorrow’s practically balmy 92, haha.

  8. July 24, 2011 9:19 am

    Hurrican Club looks snazz! Love the run-down, nice job for hitting up all these spots!

    Just found your blog and I like what I’m seeing! Adding ya to the reader 🙂

  9. July 24, 2011 10:40 pm

    I think we’re all suffering from “puddle sweat” syndrome haha, very sexy indeed! You just gave me hope for Sept/Oct and something to look forward too, thank you 🙂

  10. July 26, 2011 11:49 pm

    Hurricane Club looks amazing! I really need to go to some places during the next Restaurant Week. However, flaming drinks make me really nervous…

    This heat really is crazy…I got a late start on Saturday and ran with it was 102, so I cut my long run down to eight miles and kept the pace on the slower side. It really wasn’t as bad as I thought it was going to be, but I’ve never been so drenched in my life! I love my AC more than ever right now.

Trackbacks

  1. Happy 1st Birthday, Run Linds Run! « Run, Lindsay, Run!

Leave a comment