Skip to content

Brooklyn Half-Marathon Recap

May 23, 2011

When I first signed up for the Brooklyn Half-Marathon a few months back, my game plan was to build on my fitness from the NYC Half-Marathon on March 20th, get more workouts and mileage done in better weather, and run even faster. Unfortunately, I needed a mental break and took a bit too much time completely off running after the NYC Half, spending until mid-April just getting my mileage back up.

So, I knew I wasn’t going to PR in Brooklyn, but I knew I could still get in a good effort. And that’s exactly what happened so I am pretty happy with how Saturday went.

My time, 1:26:55, is pretty much on-par with what I thought I was capable of today, but 2.5 minutes slower than my best of 1:24:23 from just two months ago at the NYC Half. But, the best part of the day was crossing the line as the fifth female finisher for my new team, Central Park Track Club! The Brooklyn Half was a club points race, and the top five finishers for each team scored. I was happy that although I didn’t run my best, I was able to help out the team in my first race for them. Plus, it was so great having teammates at all points throughout the race! I was the 20th female finisher overall, and 4th in my age group.

So, let’s recap the morning quickly. The race started at 7am, which meant I was up at 5:20 am to get ready, roll out my piriformis/hip, drink lots of coffee, eat a big bowl of oatmeal with bananas and cinnamon, and go to the bathroom. I left around 6 am and quickly found a cab, which cost me about $47 to get down to Prospect Park. YIKES! I’m pretty sure I only paid like $18 to sign up for the race, and the cheapskate within me hates taking cabs. But, it was 10x better to arrive with time to spare rather than braving the subway.

I arrived around 6:30 and quickly checked my bags, and turned around and spotted Megan, Sarah and Shelby! Yay for new teammates! After a little walking and bathroom trip in the woods, we got in the corrals and were ready to race! Despite being in the first corral, I think it took me about 25-30 seconds to cross the line. It was crowded.

Prospect Park really wasn’t that bad. I think training and racing on the rolling hills of Central Park helped, and ‘the hill’ came and went. Sure, my mile times were a bit slower going up since it was pretty long, but wasn’t totally killer.

By the second loop, I grew increasingly frustrated by the amount of people walking/shuffling that I had to pass. I wasted a ton of energy here dodging people and almost running (literally) into them when they popped out of nowhere. I did find another CPTC-er, Jacy, around mile 5 so did my best to stick with her until we got out of the park and I kept the pace steady. I know I’ve said it before, but running with her for a bit and spotting and trying to keep up with the other CPTC girls throughout the race helped me so much.

Around mile 7, you exit the park and have the long, flat, and endless stretch of Ocean Parkway. Granted, it was pretty flat, but it felt neverending and there was little crowd support. Most people who were there standing and watching were completely silent. At least clap or say ‘woo!’ or something! Ugh.

Around mile 10, I really needed the race to end. I hadn’t really done as many longer runs and longer tempos as I needed, and I was growing pretty tired. I tried to stay focused on picking off the women in my sight one by one, which felt like a game so it was fun. Around mile 12, I wanted to die. It felt like my pace slowed dramatically and I had nothing left by the time I hit the boardwalk.

I heard Tony, the coach for CPTC, tell me I was the fifth team member when I was on the boardwalk. That got me a bit excited, but quickly wore off when I realized the finish line didn’t seem to be getting any closer and I thought I was actually moving backwards.

Definitely not a strong finish, but a finish nonetheless!

Miles 2 & 5 had the hill in Prospect Park, mile 6 I dodged walkers, but the rest of the time my pace was pretty consistent except my last 1.1 miles of death. My average pace was 6:38, which was pretty much my average pace for last Saturday’s 10K. I knew this about myself already, but I can keep a good pace for a long, steady race. Even if the race is shorter, it’s so much harder for me to run faster. Gotta work on that speed!

The race finished in Coney Island and Dan met me towards the end. We spent the afternoon in the ocean, eating Corn Dogs (well, he did…) and riding the Cyclone. It was a blast!

Baywatch?

Ocean=Post-Race Ice Bath

Coney Island Corn Dogs!

We rode and survived!

It took me a while post-race to get back my appetite, but I fueled properly…not one, but TWO trips to my beloved 16 Handles. I can’t think of a better post-race meal/treat, honestly.

The second trip to 16 Handles was post-dinner at Five Napkin Burger, followed by a night out with the girls! I was really impressed with myself that I stayed out until 2 am…in heels! What a busy/fun Saturday.

I was a bit sore yesterday, but made it through an easy five miles to shake out, and felt surprisingly good on my 7 mile run this morning. I am hoping to make it to the CPTC track workout tomorrow…my first track workout in quite some time. Hopefully getting in some faster work will pay off for the Mini 10K on June 11th, my last real race effort before backing off and gearing back up for NYC Marathon training.

Now that Monday is just about over, what was the best part of your weekend?

15 Comments leave one →
  1. May 23, 2011 9:06 pm

    I love everything about this recap, including your awesome time, your great photos, your 5 Napkin Burger dinner and of course your multiple trips to frozen yogurt Heaven. You are a total rock star. Congratulations on a great first race with CPTC!

  2. May 23, 2011 9:14 pm

    Awesome job! Seriously, that is super fast regardless if it wasn’t a PR. I wish I could run that fast!

    This post made me realize it has been FAR too long since I have been to 16 Handles (like 2 years). I need to change that.

    I’m also running the Mini. I love that one, although not sure how well it will go for me as I’m taking my time coming back after that last Marathon (5/1/11). I can’t decide if I will “try” (ie race) or just run for fun.

    Good luck! How many weeks are you setting aside for NYC Marathon training. I’m thinking 18?

  3. Abby permalink
    May 23, 2011 11:13 pm

    My boyfriend and I volunteered for this race and were posted on the course around mile 7. He was apparently at Villanova with you (before transferring) and suddenly recognised you as you approached. We decided not to cheer your name, because he had never formally met you and thought it would be very distracting for you to hear two complete strangers cheering your name. Although we did cheer for CPTC! I stumbled upon your blog this evening and am now very sorry we didn’t cheer as loudly as we could! I’m sorry the crowd support was a bit lacking. You’re a phenomenally talented athlete and deserve lots of support! I love your blog. You will definitely hear our cheers the next time we spot you racing! All the best for training.

  4. May 23, 2011 11:22 pm

    Awesome job! You look great in your new team uniform! 🙂
    Have fun with the Mini 10K! I ran it in 2009 and didn’t know the history of the race beforehand. I hope they still give you guys medals and red roses at the end! 🙂

  5. May 24, 2011 1:03 am

    Great race! Congrats on an incredible time. You definitely made me want to run this race next year, if only for the corn dogs at Coney Island 😉 And of course, the 16 handles pics were beautiful, per usual. You make stupendous looking yogurt concoctions my friend. Again congrats on a race well done!!

  6. May 24, 2011 8:19 am

    Congrats on a great half, even if it wasn’t a PR! Pretty consistent pace overall, even with the “death” at the end…when I fall apart, it’s usually a bit more obvious than that. 🙂 Annnnnd you can’t beat 16 Handles…especially twice!

  7. May 24, 2011 8:20 am

    You look great in your new uniform! That’s so awesome you’re part of CPTC now – I’m jealous 🙂 And great racing – only a few minutes off your PR without the training you wanted is pretty darn good! I am also amazed at your stamina to go out after a race until 2:00 a.m. – you are for sure a rockstar. Congrats lady!

  8. May 24, 2011 2:49 pm

    You rocked it! I am very impressed that your pace for the half-marathon was the same as last week’s 10k. Here’s to many more races in the CPTC uniform 🙂

  9. May 24, 2011 5:17 pm

    It was awesome meeting you! Congrats on your score! 🙂

  10. May 24, 2011 7:40 pm

    AWESOME race!

  11. May 24, 2011 8:17 pm

    incredible recap! awesome job and congrats on getting points for your team!

    and of course i support the repeat 16 handles visit 🙂

  12. May 25, 2011 4:05 pm

    Congrats Lindsay! You are so fast and awesome! And I love your post-race food of choice 🙂 Looks like a great time!

  13. May 25, 2011 9:29 pm

    I know it’s not your PR, but still, that time is seriously amazing. If I was in NYC, I would totally join that club and I’m so glad that you are a part of it and already kickin’ ass and takin’ names! Congrats!

Trackbacks

  1. Cheesecake & Track Workouts « Run, Lindsay, Run!
  2. Happy 1st Birthday, Run Linds Run! « Run, Lindsay, Run!

Leave a comment